Day 131. Another Award

Honestly, I don’t know what to say.  I have been getting such a good response to my blog.  I’ve had my fair share of visits, follows, ‘likes’ and comments.  Not so longBlog of the Year Award 1 star jpeg ago the film and travel-loving author of MANNINGTREE ARCHIVE nominated me for the One Lovely Blogger Award .

And last night I returned home from a night out, to find the brains and talent behind one of my favourite blogs, Evil Squirrel’s Nest, had chosen me, (and several other very worthy recipients), for The 2012 Blog of the Year Award.

Over the years in my professional career as a copywriter and creative director, my work has been recognized many, many times.  And I’m very grateful for it.  My greatest satisfaction, however, is when my work is liked by those who read it.  Those who choose to read it.  When they appreciate it.  When they think it is worthy of mention.

When we nominate each other, it’s significant.  Because we’re peers.  Fellow bloggers.  And fellow readers.  There is so much available in the blogosphere.  So much really wonderful, wonderful work.  Which is why I truly appreciate the time taken to read my blog, let alone honouring it with re-tweets and re-blogs, sharing on social media and, with awards, like this one.

Thank You.  Truly.

Now it’s my turn to introduce you to some of the blogs I enjoy.  There are a lot of them, let me tell you.  Today, though, I am concentrating on five.  Some I have followed for a while, some only recently.  Because I am as inspired by the visual as I am by the written word, two of the blogs feature photography.  I really hope you take the time to visit them.  They are all extremely well done, often thought-provoking, very well-written, beautifully designed and, most of all, deserving of your time and attention.  Enough said.  Here goes:

  1. Pete Armetta (also the name of his blog) is as skilled and talented when he’s writing poetry as he is when he’s writing flash fiction, short stories and essays.  All of which you’ll find as soon as you ‘click’ on his name.  He’s honest about sharing his inner most feelings, unafraid to show his humanity and vulnerabilities.  His work is powerful, his messages profound.  Sprinkled here and there with examples of wit and humour.
  2. Word by Word.  Claire, the writer of ‘the words’ is, among other things, living one of my fantasies.  She and her family live in France, although she hails from New Zealand.  To quote her, “I love words, language, sentences, metaphors, stories long and short, poetry, reading and writing.”  And as you will soon find out, regardless of whether she’s talking about life, experiences, travel and books she’s enjoyed or where she finds inspiration, it shows.
  3. Talk about being prolific.  Rebecca Guevara, author of The Writing Waters Blog, has already written four books, with a new one due out soon.  I love her ‘style’ of writing.  It feels like the two of you are sitting at her kitchen table (or yours), enjoying a good cup of coffee and some great conversation.  She’s a wonderful storyteller.  I also like how she describes herself.  “As an occasional voice of reason”.  And I think it’s a hoot that she’s ‘named’ the voice that lives inside her head.  Irma Prattle.
  4. Visually I think Sadie & Dasie is one, spectacular blog.  It’s clean, contemporary and sophisticated.  Each post features just three exquisite photographs.  There’s always a theme; and the execution is consistently bold, striking and simple, simple, simple.  I always want everything in every photo, including the family’s two adorable dogs, Dasie and Lily, who are sometimes featured.  This is a blog that looks ‘curated’; and it is a visceral demonstration of beautiful design.
  5. A pair of aspiring architects who ‘found’ each other in the Netherlands share their passion for all things beautiful on their blog, hovercraftdoggy.  If you’re curious about the name, and why wouldn’t you be, it was “named after an image of little dogs (hovercraft doggies) that walk like they are floating on air”.  You’ll find it on the blog.  Along with a stunning selection of photography of art, architecture, design, nature.  Whatever inspires.  You will be enthralled, I know.

Whew!  All that’s left is for you to check them all out.  Can’t wait to hear what you think.  And now, just before I let you go off to ‘click’ to your hearts’ content, just one minute to share the rules, of which there are relatively few:

  • Select the blog(s) you think deserve the “Blog of the Year 2012″ Award.
  • Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.
  • Please include a link back to this page Blog Of The Year 2012 Award and include these rules in your own blog post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges).
  • Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them.
  • You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page Blog of the Year 2012″ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience.
  • As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars …

To quote Bugs Bunny, “that’s all folks”.

16 thoughts on “Day 131. Another Award

Leave a Reply

