Day 25. No Time

I don’t know what it is.  But lately there never seems to be enough time in the day for me to get everything done.  And I’m not talking about chores.  I mean work.  Writing.  I don’t know where the day goes.  I don’t know where the week goes.  For that matter, I don’t know where the summer’s gone.  Or the years.

No matter how early I get up (and I set my alarm for 7 a.m. every day), by the time I’ve fed my cats, done litter box duty, showered and fed myself (while reading the newspaper, so I don’t waste more time), it feels like half the day’s gone.  It isn’t really, but it’s damn close.  On those days when I have a client meeting, that’s it.  A glance at my watch tells me it’s 3:00 or 4:00 o’clock.  I may not even have had lunch yet.  And yet, the day is pretty much over.  Time to maybe pick up some groceries and head home.  To work.

While I may not have meetings every day, I still have work to do for clients.  Writing their websites.  Their blogs.  Thinking about marketing plans.  What comes next.  How our campaigns are working so far.  Briefing photographers or designers.  There’s always something.  So again, when I look at my watch it’s late afternoon.  And again I may not yet have had lunch.  And I haven’t written either of my blogs.  Or worked on my book.  Or been on the hunt for new business.

Why does it feel like I’m always behind the 8ball?

Maybe I’m deluding myself when I say I don’t think I’m a time waster.  But I really don’t think I am.  I’m on it.

My time crunch is considerably worse since I’ve added this blog to my repertoire.  I now have a commitment to write something each and every day.  I love doing it.  But it is a chunk of time, which has been added, to my already-challenged day.  I don’t think I fully appreciated what that would actually ‘mean‘, when I came up with the idea.  There’s no way I’m going to stop.  It’s too much fun.  But I’m just saying, most nights, before I go to bed, I’m preparing the next day’s blog.

It’s already Friday.  A minute ago it was last Sunday night and I was watching the season finale of The Newsroom.  Almost a week’s gone by, without my really noticing it.  And this weekend isn’t just any weekend.  It’s Labour Day weekend.  It was just March and I was complaining, because it was colder in March than it was in February.  I couldn’t wait for summer and now it’s over.  Where the hell was I when this happened?  For that matter, it’s been almost a month since I started this blog!  Really??

A friend, my closest friend, has a niece who — let us just say — is a very grown woman with 2 kids of her own.  When I met her for the first time, just yesterday it feels like, she was 2 years old.  Younger than her youngest.  So how old does that make me?  Never mind, I don’t want to know.

Do I have to tell you that the next thing we’ll all know, we’ll be shopping for Christmas presents?  I’ll bet there are some folks who already are.  And then, before we know it, it will be Labour Day weekend again.

By then, my year of blog posts will be up.  I will have written every day for 365 days.

What will I do with all that extra time?

2 thoughts on “Day 25. No Time

    • Thanks so much. Like I said, I’m stubborn. If I start something I finish it. Especially if my reputation is involved. And because I write and do advertising for a living, I’m committed.

Leave a Reply

