Day 48. Low Tech

(sigh). (big sigh).

Every time I think I’m finally getting the hang of it, there’s some kind of a glitch; and I find myself right back where I started: Confused.

I am speaking, of course, about all things technical. Specifically, anything to do with my computer, my router, my printer, the Internet and social media. And, for the purposes of today’s story, make that the trials and tribulations of blogging. Technologically speaking.

If you’re reading my blog for the first time, you may not yet know that my objective is to post something new, every day, for three hundred and sixty-five days. A year, in other words. Some days I find have a lot of ideas. So I write them all up, save them, and publish them sequentially, each new day. This is really helpful for those days when I know I will be too busy to carve off a few hours, to write a post.

This has never been a problem.

Until yesterday.

I wrote and posted Friday’s story, first thing Friday morning. Just as I was about to shut down my computer and have breakfast, an idea came to me. So I wrote it up and saved it, for yesterday. When I was done, I remembered that there was something I wanted to check on LinkedIn. Once there, I noticed that the post I had

written, and saved, had been published. Even though I hadn’t wanted it published. I quickly checked Facebook and Twitter. Ditto. And yes, it was also posted here, on WordPress.

Momentarily confounded, I stared at my computer screen for a minute. Yes, I have set up my blog to automatically publish my posts to social media. But I had not clicked ‘publish’. I had just clicked ‘save draft’. I went back and checked the ‘all posts’ section on my dashboard. Sure enough, it reported that the post had been ‘modified’. But not published.

Aha! It seems that one of those nasty, evil, creepy, mean-spirited technology gremlins had decided to mess with my head. And my blog.

In a moment of sheer brilliance, or so I thought at the time, I said to myself: “I’ll show you! You may think I’m an idiot, but I’m starting to figure this stuff out. I can set up blogs by myself, now. I can even manage some modest customizing, without getting palpitations, and sweaty palms. I know all about widgets and tags and category clouds and links, and you name it. I’ve come a long way, baby. So back off, Mister. Go torture someone else.”

And then I systematically deleted the post everywhere — on WordPress. On LinkedIn. On Facebook and Twitter. Yeah!!

Very proud of myself, I went on with the rest of my day.

Yesterday morning I leapt out of bed, heading for my laptop. I went directly to the post I’d already written and saved, thinking I’d give it a quick once-over before posting it. I did that, and clicked ‘publish’. While it did appear on WordPress, it did not show up on any of my social media. Not Facebook. Not Twitter. Not LinkedIn. Not Tumblr. Hmmmmm …

I checked the ‘help’ section on Facebook. That was no help. Which is not unusual, at least in my experience.

Clearly, it was that damn gremlin again! “This is getting tiresome”, I thought.

Admittedly, I was kinda stumped. So I did have to pause for a minute or two, to try to figure out what was going on. I came up empty. Still have no clue, incidentally. But what I did manage to come up with, was the idea of posting it manually. Well, it worked on LinkedIn, sort of. Took two attempts. Worked on Twitter, to a point. Not perfect, but no biggie. Facebook was, and remains, a problem. It worked fine on my Facebook business page. Worked on my timeline. But it showed up twice on my newsfeed.

“Well”, I said to myself. “This is no problem. I’ll just ‘hide’ one of them”. I chose to ‘hide’, rather than ‘delete’, because I was sure that if I deleted it from my newsfeed, it would be deleted everywhere else. Seemed logical, don’t you think? Not to the Gods who were conspiring against me.

It remained on my business page (good). It remained on my timeline (very good). But both posts disappeared from my newsfeed (not good at all). And no matter how many times I tried and re-tried, I couldn’t restore them. I’d post all over again, manually, directly on to my newsfeed. The post would show up. And, almost immediately, it would disappear again.

Sent ‘please help’ messages to both Facebook and WordPress. Still waiting. I am surprised I haven’t heard back from WordPress, to be honest. They’re usually great at getting back to me. Their support is very good. Facebook? Not so much. I know I’ll never hear back from them. That I know from experience. I really don’t like Mark Zuckerberg.

But what’s really bugging me, is the fact that I must now acknowledge that I’m still really in the dark, here. I still really don’t know what I’m doing. I guess being able to set up and personalize blogs and Facebook timelines gave me a false sense of security. Tweeting effortlessly made me believe that, at long last, I was firmly entrenched in the future.

None of it’s true, though. Unfortunately I remain an idiot. Technically challenged. A neophyte. Low tech. Maybe it’s even worse than that. Maybe I’m no tech.

Oh noooooooooooo! Not no tech!

Leave a Reply

