Day 52. Need Pampering

I’m tired.  Actually, it’s more than that.  I’m weary.  I’ve been working hard; and haven’t taken any time off, in a long time.  And I’m beginning to feel it.  And so is my body.  I’ve been feeling this way for a while, but haven’t wanted to give in to it.

My neck is sore.  I have knots in my shoulders.  My wrists hurt from all the hours I’m spending on my computer.  So do my hands.  My lower back is tight, as are my hamstrings and IT bands.  Again, it’s from sitting at the computer for long hours.  Even my daily stretches don’t seem to be helping.  And neither, of course, is the dramatically cooler weather.

It feels wimpy to complain, so I haven’t.  But the constant, nagging, discomfort is beginning to get on my nerves.  Like a toothache, that just won’t go away.  It’s with me, all the time.  Not sharp pain.  A dull ache.  Soreness.  Everywhere.

So self-indulgent as it may be, I think I need some time at a day spa.  Maybe a full day. Three hours, at the least.

I’m craving a paraffin manicure.  They are absolutely scrumptious.  It starts off like any other manicure.  But once the soaking, cleaning, filing and cuticles etc. have been dealt with, and your hands and arms have been massaged and nourished with lovely, rich cream (heavenly), your hands are put into gloves that are filled with hot paraffin wax.  And then you put on what can be best described as oven mitts.  To keep the heat in, as long as possible.

I’m in a trance, just thinking about it.  You have no idea how good this feels.  In fact right now, I’d like my whole body to be covered in hot wax.  Bet that would get rid of my aches and pains.  The gloves and wax are left on for about twenty minutes.  And to help pass the time, you’re treated to a neck, shoulder, upper back and head massage.

Are you drooling yet?  I am.

You can have paraffin pedicures, as well.  But as I’ve just recently had one, I’ll pass this time.  Instead I’d like a rejuvenating facial.  It lasts about 90 minutes and once the ‘squeezing’ is over and done with, it’s pure bliss.  This also comes with a brief head, neck and shoulder massage.  And then, I want a 90 minute full body massage.  Part of me wants a hot stone massage.  They are so soothing and relaxing.  But part of me knows that I need something more.  All those kinks in my neck, arms, lower back and legs really need to be worked out.  Swedish massage, I think.

I wonder if I could convince them to let me have both, one after another??  How absolutely spectacular would that be?  Mmmmm …

There I’ll be, in a darkened room, listening to waves gently washing up on shore, or other sounds that are specially designed to help you relax. I’ll be laying on a bed that’s curved to hug my body.  Soft enough for comfort and hard enough to provide good support.  And if that’s not enough, it’s heated, to just the right temperature.  And then you’re covered with a sheet and a very light blanket.  I could live in that room, full time.

But speaking from experience, if you ever plan on giving yourself the gift of several hours at a day spa, make sure you book your appointment at the end of the day.  Because trust me.  All you are going to want to do once you’re done, is go home, and crawl into bed.  You’ll wish you didn’t have to put your clothes back on.  You won’t want to talk to anyone.  You won’t want to do anything.  Nor should you.  Just chill.

Honestly, I’m not sure I can wait until the end of the day!

5 thoughts on “Day 52. Need Pampering

  1. Oh yes, I can feel it! I’m calling now to make my next massage appointment. I hope you really do take your own wonderfully descriptive advice. Great tip about making the appointment at the end of the day so we can hold onto that inner glow and the totally relaxed and lazy feeling for as long as possible.

  2. Pingback: Day 55. So Soothing | Three Hundred Sixty-Five

Leave a Reply

