Day 73. OH NOOOOOOOOO!!!!

I suppose it was inevitable.  Given my negative technology ions, and all.  But why now?  Today?  This late in the day?  After all that work?  After all that polishing?  Why, why, why????

What am I blathering about?

Well, to put it very mildly, I’m not having a very happy WordPress day!  I have been working on today’s blog post since 7:30 this morning.  That’s right, I’ve been working on it ALL morning.  I saved it a few times, no problem.  Ha!!  Or so I’d thought.

And then, at precisely 11:51 a.m. I saved it again.  So I could preview it, before adding a couple of last thoughts, making a few more edits and publishing it.

So what happened?

The usual.  I clicked on “Save Draft”.  It started to save.  And then, suddenly, it stopped behaving like it always does.  Make that ‘did’.  The screen went blank.  And then a login screen appeared.  In the middle of saving my story, I had to login again.  I had a really bad feeling.  My stomach clenched.  My palms twitched.  My skin got clammy.  My heart skipped a couple of beats.

Nausea overcame me.  My head started to pound.  Every swear word I’ve ever known, instantly came to mind.  I groaned out loud.  I moaned out loud.  I shook my head in denial.  A tear rolled slowly down my cheek.  I put my head in my hands.  I took a deep breath.  I prayed.

Then I logged in.  What choice did I have?

You know what happened next, don’t you?  Except for the first few paragraphs, the rest of my story was gone.  Is gone.  Remains gone.  Got that?  Gone.  Which tells me that even though I thought I’d been saving all those other times, it wasn’t saving my changes at all.  Otherwise they would have been there.  I tried everything.  I went to the log of revisions and clicked on each one.  Even though I had saved, periodically, my most recent copy was gone.  Gone, gone, gone, gone, gone!

Bad WordPress!  Bad, Bad, Bad!!!

Resolute, I refused to give up.  I spent more than an hour trying anything and everything in an attempt to recover my lost text.  Nothing.  Nada. After rejecting the idea of stabbing myself with my coffee stirrer (I’m at Starbucks), I reviewed my options.  I could:

  1. Throw my computer against the wall.
  2. Contact WordPress Support and see if they could help, and if they could, would it be in time to salvage today’s post.
  3. Re-write the story.
  4. Start all over with something else.
  5. Throw in the towel and never blog again.

Killing my computer didn’t seem like such a good idea, after all.  Too expensive to replace.  Involving WordPress support could have resulted in a solution, but half the day’s already gone and I really didn’t feel like wasting more time.  Possibly in vain.  Having root canal without an anaesthetic seemed (and still seems) preferable to attempting to recreate the original story.  Never blogging again is dumb; and I wouldn’t mean it, anyway.  I just lost a blog post.  Nobody died.

So here I am, starting over, with something new.  Truth be told, it’s cathartic.  Good choice, I think.

This has happened to me before, you know.  I suppose it’s happened to all writers.  Not necessarily with WordPress.  My problems are usually with hard drives that crash.  Years ago when I was working at Ogilvy, I had just finished writing a newsletter for IKEA, a client of ours at the time.  I’d worked like a dog on it.  It was 9:00 p.m. and I was still hunched over my computer, at the office.  Stupidly, I hadn’t ‘saved’ in a while.  All of a sudden some very weird patterns appeared on my computer screen.  Then they fizzled out and everything went black.  Including my mood.

Tech support was already gone, so it had to wait until morning.  Thank God, there were still a few days until the copy was due.  I went home and had a few drinks, followed by two extra strength Tylenol and went to bed.  Had really bad dreams.  Which were nothing like the reality I had to deal with when I got to the agency, the next morning.

Hard drive crashed.  Nothing was salvageable.  I had no choice but to start over, and re-write that whole flipping newsletter.  During the course of my career this has happened to me at least six more times.  Except now I am very diligent about ‘saving’ as I go.  Once burned …

Now you know why I’m paranoid.  Why I’m a zealot about ‘saving’.  Why I have an external hard drive at home, just in case.  Why I also save really important documents, like my book, on memory sticks.  And have copies printed out every few chapters.  And email copies to friends, for them to save.

But today, even periodic ‘saving’ hasn’t saved me.  I truly am cursed.

Generally I believe that everything happens for a reason.  Damned if I know why a day that started so nicely, suddenly turned on me.  So if any of you can come up with a reason why this may have happened to me today, I’d love to hear it.

Thanks.  And could you save a copy of your thoughts for me?  Just in case …

6 thoughts on “Day 73. OH NOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Leave a Reply

