Day 89. Good Fortune

Citrine.  A colour (one of my favourites).  A gemstone (also one of my favourites).  And also known as the “success stone”, because it promotes success, prosperity and abundance.  Which I did not know, until I googled it.  Apparently it’s really known for promoting success in business, which is why it is often referred to as the “merchant’s stone”.

It also imparts generosity, or a sharing of the wealth (something your friends and family will be happy to hear).  And it dissipates any negative energy from its surroundings.  It’s said to increase psychic powers and self esteem.  To open the mind to new thoughts and, to promote clarity of thought.

Apparently, it is sometimes used by healers to help with digestion, because it can cleanse, purify and eliminate poisons that have built up.  It can have a calming effect in stressful situations; and can help relieve depression.  And, it can give joy and love to the owner. 

All of which are, to my mind, very good reasons to carry some around with you, at all times.  Who knew?  I’ve just always liked it.

The colour known as “citrine” ranges from a medium deep shade of golden yellow, to greenish-yellow, brownish yellow and even orange.  Its original reference point was the citron fruit, which includes both lemons and limes.  The first known use of it, as a name for a colour, was in 1386, when it was borrowed from a medieval Latin and classical Latin word with the same meaning.

Today we tend to refer to it, mostly, as a gemstone and as some animal and plant names.  For example, ‘motacilla citreola’ is the scientific name for a certain wagtail bird that lives in Asia, and has golden-yellow plumage.  Very beautiful and unique.  At least I think so.

I’m more familiar with its use in jewelry.  The gemstone is a member of the quartz mineral group.  The deep golden variety, from Madiera, Spain, looks a lot like the imperial topaz, which is considerably more expensive.   My personal preference, however, is towards the more yellow and greenish-yellow varieties.  I just think they’re more interesting.  But if you were born in November, and the topaz is your birthstone, a citrine is a much less expensive alternative.

Lucky you, if you’re buying a gift for yourself.  As for any fortune huntresses out there in the blogosphere, well, I suppose you’re not obliged to share your new-found knowledge with anyone, are you?  What your wealthy lovers don’t know, won’t hurt them, I guess.  So be my guest.  Hold out for some topaz.  Your call.  Not the way I’d behave, or want to be treated, but “a chacun son gout”, as they say.

Got wanderlust?  Should you feel like visiting some of the countries where citrine can be found, you have your choice of Brazil, Bolivia, several African countries, parts of the Soviet Union and, as I mentioned previously, Madiera, Spain.  All interesting destinations regardless, don’t you think?

If, on the other hand, you have jewelry on your mind right now, citrine is an excellent choice for rings.  It has a hardness of 7 on the Mohs scale; and that means it is largely insensitive to scratches.  It will also survive being knocked about, which happens often to rings.  At least to mine.

As for myself, I see endless possibilities.  A citrine crystal in my wallet for some good fortune.  Perhaps another in my computer bag to ensure I think clearly at all times and never run out of fresh ideas.  South Africa’s on my list of places I want to see anyway, so why not combine a vacation, with an opportunity to find the perfect stone for a fabulous ring?  Maybe I can even write about my adventures and earn back some of the money I’d be spending on the trip.

I think I’m on to something here.  Clearly.

2 thoughts on “Day 89. Good Fortune

Leave a Reply

