Day 121. Fresh Start

Even though I’m not really a morning person, I love dawn.  And I’m getting to see a lot of it, now that I’m writing and posting here so early every morning.  This is the view I see skylinedawnout of my living room window.  Or pretty damn close.

I didn’t take the photo.  I tried to shoot it today, with my cell phone camera, but it just wasn’t doing it justice.  Would have taken too long to get my camera, etc. etc., so I cheated.  And found one online.  Not important.  Not really germane to the overall story.  Just wanted to share what I see every day.

In person, the lights are all different colours.  So it’s like looking into the Royal jewel box.  Especially late at night, when the sky is so dark you can’t tell if it’s an inky blue or black.

Worth getting up early for, don’t you think?  Is it any wonder that I look forward to each, new day?

Something I’ve always done, actually.  Regardless of the view, to be honest.  I am, by nature, a glass half full kinda gal.  I love the idea of a new beginning.  A fresh start. To get another chance.  An opportunity to wipe the slate clean, and begin again.  Or, to continue where I left off the day before.  I even enjoy the unpredictability. Because we have no idea what the day will bring.  Not really.

Intellectually we know that babies will be born.  Right this minute, in fact.  As I’m writing.

And folks will pass.  Right this minute, in fact.  As I’m writing.

Doctors will save lives.  Right this minute, in fact.  As I’m writing.

Deals will be made.  The stock market will go up.  Or down.  Cyclists will argue with drivers.  Parents will take their kids to school.  And pick them up, again.  Dogs will bark.  Lawns will be mowed.  Flowers picked.  Snow shovelled.  Leaves raked.  Books read.  Movies watched.  Wars fought.  Drugs bought.  And sold.  Criminals arrested.  And paroled.

Right this minute, in fact.  As I’m writing.

Lessons learned.  Meals cooked.  Beds made.  Laundry done.  There’ll be fires.  And floods.  And storms.  And the sun will shine.  Planes will fly.  Cars will stall.  Plans will change.  Trips taken.  Houses will be bought.  And sold.  People will move.  Some will be hired.  Others fired.  Exams will be written.  Decisions made.  Dissidents will protest.  There’ll be violence.  And peace.  Laughing.  And crying.

Right this minute, in fact.  As I’m writing.

But really, who knows?  Who knows what each of our days will bring.  What’s in store for us?  For our loved ones?  For our friends.  And neighbours.  And colleagues.  And total strangers?  What’s in store for the world at large?  Will the news be good?  Or bad?  Or both.  What will it mean for us?  How will we react?  What will we do?  And say?  And think?  Will it bring out the best in us?  Or the worst?

That’s what we don’t know when we go to bed each night.  That’s what we don’t know when we wake up each morning.  And that’s what makes life interesting.  That’s the adventure that comes with each, new day.  The thrill.  The rush.  That’s what makes me leap out of bed, filled with anticipation.  Well, maybe not leap, but you know what I mean.

The chance to learn from a bad day.  And enjoy a good one.  Which is exactly what I wish you.

Have a great day!

11 thoughts on “Day 121. Fresh Start

  1. Pingback: The Green Study Holiday Humor Contest: Honorable Mention | The Green Study

Leave a Reply

