Day 147. Looking Back

We’re mere hours away from a brand new year.  What better time to reflect?  When I started this, particular, blog back in August I really had no idea how it would champagneturn out.  I woke up one morning and decided, there and then, I wanted a blog.  One just for ‘me’.  Where I’d write every day come hell or high water.

About anything and everything.  Whatever popped into my head.  Whatever inspired me.  Whatever I felt like writing about.

Whatever.

And before I could change my mind, I picked a format, played with it a bit, wrote my ‘pages’ and had my first post written.  And published.  All in the space of a few hours.  I was committed.  Publicly.  And anyone who knows me will tell you, when I give my word, it’s binding.  Like a contract.

On some, sub-conscious level, I wanted to be committed.  Which is why I rushed to get it up and running so quickly.

Honestly, I don’t know what possessed me.  I don’t mean that in a bad way.  I already have a WordPress blog, Fransi Weinstein Et Al.  There I ‘talk’ about subjects pertaining to advertising, the business I’m in.  After years and years as an ad agency copywriter/creative director I’m now a freelance writer and strategic consultant.

So on Et Al, I write to a ‘very tight brief’.  It’s all business.

I also have client work.  Plus I’m writing a book.  It’s not like I have nothing to do.  It’s not like I’m not already writing every day.  What possessed me?

Until recently, I probably couldn’t have told you.  But now I’m into the thick of it, 147 posts worth (well over 125,000 words), I know exactly what possessed me:  It gives me the freedom I’ve always craved, as a writer.  Every bit of writing I have ever done, has been for someone else.  They’ve chosen the topic.  And I’ve had to write in their voice.  Their brand.

Three Hundred Sixty-Five is me.  All me.  For me.  By me.  In my voice.  I can’t explain how that feels.  I can’t explain it, because I have never felt like anything’s been missing.  I’ve been totally satisfied with my chosen profession.  I knew, at twelve years old, I wanted to work in advertising.  I love it.

But now I know, with all the writing I’ve done professionally,  I’ve never really expressed ‘myself’.  Until I started this blog.

I love it!!

It’s also a fabulous ‘exercise’ for me.  Writers have to write.  All the time.  Every day, if possible.  Just like athletes train every day.  The more you do, the more you crave.  The more you do, the ‘easier’ it gets.  The more you do, the more proficient you become.  The more you do, the better you get.  The more you do, the more you want to do more.

My voice is stronger than ever.  My editing more ‘polished’ than ever.  I’m faster.  Ideas come more quickly.  I angst less (no time).  And lo and behold, it’s rubbing off on everything else I write.  My other blog, my client assignments and my book.

So looking back on my decision, I’d have to say it was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.  Even if I didn’t know it at the time.

More than all this, it’s given me a chance to get to know all of you.  Another ‘perk’, of course is acknowledgement.  Acknowledgement and recognition.  And I’ve sure been getting a lot of that.  Considering all the talent on WordPress, I’d say much, much more than my fair share.  Not that I’m complaining.

Late in the day yesterday, I got an email notification of a new ‘comment’ waiting for me.  It was from Cup Cake Travels, nominating me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.  This is the second time I have been blessed with this award, so I am not making a big hullabaloo out of it.  Which in no way means I am not appreciative.  Or touched.  I am both.  Very much so.  So thank you, very much for thinking of me, and my blog.  Written by an Australian living in France, Cup Cake Travels literally makes my mouth water.  Gorgeous photos and well-written, interesting commentary.  It’s simply delicious, in every sense of the word.

One word of caution, though:  Don’t visit on an empty stomach.  You will eat everything in your fridge.  Guaranteed.

Because my cup runneth over, award wise, I am skipping all of the ‘rules’ and formalities that come with being nominated.  You know me better than I know me.  Instead, I’m just going to get on with the fun stuff.  Sharing the wealth.  Today I am picking two blogs, both devoted to poetry:

Andrea’ Fellini’s ‘dives of a fertile mind’ is not only beautifully written, it’s also lovely to look at.  I very much like his ‘theme’ which, incidentally, is in very sharp contrast to his content.  Which is both provocative and intense.  He’s a meticulous writer.  A perfectionist.  Rarely satisfied.  He will challenge you, and definitely make you think.

From Wexford, C.J., Chris Black has been writing and publishing poetry for the past twenty years.  I have been following his blog for a while now.  Sometimes he’s funny, sometimes serious. always enjoyable.  He asks good questions and makes powerful statements; and, like me, I’m sure you’ll be mulling over what you’ve read long after your computer’s shut down.

I’ve gone on quite long enough.  Here’s a link to the post I wrote when I first was given this award.  You’ll find the rules there.

We won’t ‘see’ each other again, now, until next year.  2013.  I wish you all a happy, healthy, peaceful, writers-block free New Year.  All the very best to you, and your loved ones.  Thank you for making the last 147 days of 2012 so mind-blogglingly, wonderfully amazing for me !! And remember …

“Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365-page book.  Write a good one.”  Brad Paisley

16 thoughts on “Day 147. Looking Back

    • I’ve been on WordPress for about 4 years. This one was started in August. But what a neat coincidence! I didn’t realize you started your blog in August. Enjoy your evening. Of course, it’s dinner time in Bangkok. Have a fabulous time. And all the best for 2013. I have enjoyed getting to know you, and look forward to more reading and conversing in the New Year.

      • I waited because I knew your reply is coming up. And it was worth the wait. Yes, it’s 19:35 here and the hotel has a fabulous party lined up for the night. I too am very happy to have “known” you – great. I hope we will have a great year ahead. Take care, Fransi. Happy New Year! Jo

      • Enjoy the party. When I went to India, I spent New Years Eve in Samode, at the Samode Palace Hotel. It was magical. An evening I will never forget. I am sure yours will be the same. All the best!

  1. The reasons you mentioned for starting a blog are much the same with me, although I’m going the opposite way – I started a personal blog in 2012 and for 2013, I’m starting up an interactive fiction (serialized fiction) blog as part of my career development.
    I have really enjoyed blogging and because it’s such a positive environment, it’s made it easier for me to write publicly. Soon I’ll be working on submitting material for pay and publication and that rejection process can only be softened by blogging and the new “friends” I’ve made this year.
    Have a wonderful and successful new year, Fransi!

    • The key to rejection is not to take it personally. Just because your work isn’t what one editor or agent or publisher wants, it doesn’t mean it’s not good. Even for the pros, the selection process is subjective. One good thing about advertising is, it teaches you to develop a thick skin. Every word you write is subject to dozens of people’s approval. Or disapproval. You’re a great writer. I love reading your blog and I know I’ll love the other one as well. And you’ll do well. Just remember, the publishing industry — whether it’s a book you want published — or to get paid for writing articles in magazines and newspapers — is really hurting. They have been for a long time. So it is tougher and tougher to get work paid for. But that shouldn’t stop you. It’s not stopping me. All the best. See you in 2013!!

  2. Fransi, just logged on what a surprise, honestly I’m humbled, words can’t express my joy of being chosen by someone as prolific as your good self – all your nominations are well deserved – as for me sure I just scribble down whatever falls out when I give the saw dust a shake.
    Happy New Year to you and yours look forward to all you have to offer in 2013.
    Chris.

  3. The blog is a freedom to write almost without expectation, the only expectation being the one you have created with yourself, to write every day.

    It is this freedom that draws me to it as well, the freedom to write as you wish about whatever you wish, without having to meeting any criteria other than your own. It is so liberating and it gives something in abundance back! That was the biggest surprise for me, none of us go into this thinking about or even having much perception of the gifts it gives back.

    Bonne Continuation my friend, its a wonderful journey and so happy to be on this leg of it with you 🙂

    • You’ve nailed it. You’re exactly right. It is so freeing. Is that really a word? I don’t care. Thank you! I am so pleased you’re on my journey with me; and equally pleased to be on yours, with you. Happy trails 🙂

Leave a Reply

