Day 148. Right Foot

It’s here.  After all the anticipating.  Reflecting.  And reviewing.  After all the planning.  Promising.  Goal-setting.  Resolving.  After all the partying.  Crazy hats.  steppingNoise-making.  Party favours.  Popping corks.  Dancing.  Dining.  Drinking.  Kissing.

After the countdowns.  Clock-watching.  Drum rolls.  Crowds.  Couples.  Tourists.  Revellers.  After all the singing.  Cheering.  Clapping.  Shouting.  Texting.  And calling.

After all the champagne’s gone.  The tabs settled.  The whistles discarded.  The aspirins taken.  The make-up removed.  The shoes kicked off.  The clothes dropped on the floor.  The beds turned down.  And occupied.  The pillows pounded.  The lights off.

After the morning after.  The hangovers.  The headaches.  The red eyes.  The sore throats.  The upset stomachs.  The moans.  The groans.  The recriminations.

It’s here.  2013.  

Seems almost anti-climactic, don’t you think?  There’s always so much of a build-up to the New Year.  So much anticipation.  So much planning.  What to do.  Where to go.  Who to invite.  What to wear.  The actual ‘event’ almost always pales in comparison.  At least to me.

Nonetheless, Happy New Year!  I hope 2013 brings peace, health, contentment, joy, tolerance and plenty of positive outcomes to us all.

Don’t know if you’re superstitious, or not.  I am.  Not obsessively.  But I don’t walk under ladders.  I always pick up pennies when I find them.  I shudder at the thought of breaking a mirror.  And I force myself not to panic when a black cat crosses my path.  I love kitties, and they love me.  They’re not going to bring me bad luck.  Right????

Anyhoo.  There is a superstition concerning moving into a new home.  When you walk into your new house for the first time, your right foot MUST cross the threshold first.  If you enter with your left foot first, it means you are bringing evil into the house.

Please don’t shoot the messenger, folks.  I didn’t write it.  I just looked it up.

I mention it, because this is how I have decided to ‘enter’ the New Year.  With my right foot first.

No baggage.  No pre-conceived fears, concerns or notions.  No negative thoughts.  No pessimism.  My brain has been purged.  Every scary headline I’ve ever read has been exorcised.  Every dire prediction.  Gone.  Every naysayer.  Gone.  Every cynic.  Gone.  Every skeptic.  Gone.  Every ‘realist’.  Gone.

All banished.

This is a new day.  A new year.  A new beginning.  My head is as uncluttered as a new born baby’s.  I choose to believe.  I choose to believe we’ll pull through.  Be happy.  Be okay.  I refuse to bring bad karma into 2013.  It’s back there, in 2012.  In the past.  Where it belongs.  Where it can no longer do us any harm.

With the New Year, we get a clean slate.  A chance to start from scratch.  To start over.  To chart a new course.  To choose a different path.  To right the wrongs.  To be smarter.  To make better decisions.  And we can do it.  I firmly believe we can.  If we want to.

If we’re willing to let go of the ‘ahh-it-will-never-happen’ attitude, we wear like a cozy blanket.  We’re so used to it now, it’s hard to imagine life without it.  In its own, strange way, it’s comfortable.  It means we don’t have to change.  To make an effort.  To do something.  We can just sit there and wait for it all to come crashing down around us.

Not me, folks!  This year, I am.  I am going to get done the things that are most important to me.  In my life.  And in the lives of others.  I can.  And I will.  Yes, indeed.  And hopefully you will choose to, as well.

Because you can’t imagine how gorgeous the view is, when you decide to look at the bright side.  So please, repeat after me.  All together now:

Right Foot.

Right Foot.

Right Foot.

14 thoughts on “Day 148. Right Foot

  1. LOL Fran, I’d just raised my gun when I read, “Don’t shot the messenger!” I might go into a panic cause I can’t remember if I used my right foot or left the first time I entered my lovely new house 13 years ago! Oh wait, let’s look on the bright side. It must have been my right foot cause our house/home has always been a blessing! Whoo-hoo, that was close!

    Great post. 🙂

    • Thanks! Glad you put the gun down :). And I’d agree. After 13 years there’s no doubt you walked in your front door on the right foot.

  2. Being a lefty, I’m going, in the words of Beyonce, to the left, to the left. Even better for the feet is the song in the Rankin-Bass holiday show “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”. Put one foot in front of the other and soon you’ll be walking out the door.

    Wishing you many happy steps in 2013, Fransi!

  3. A most positive start to the New Year Fransi, best foot forward, glass half full, outlook bright topped off with good karma – sure how can we go wrong – a call to all those feeling down – get in touch we will endeavour to raise your spirits – raise your glasses – bottoms up – all together HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Indeed!! Let’s get started, then. It works, I’ll tell you. It’s not quite 3pm and my day has already been extraordinary. It just takes some faith. Glad you’re onboard.

  4. Drinking is not my thing and the new year has been slightly on the anticlimactic side but none the less I’m looking forward to a new year,a new chance to do something so I too am going to block out those naysayers.Thanks for the wonderful thoughts on the new year and cheers (with a glass of juice)

Leave a Reply

