Day 160. Acceptance Speeches

Guess what.  It’s that time of year again.  The People’s Choice Awards just took place last Wednesday night.  The Golden Globes are tonight.  Both the Oscar and beautiful blogger awardGrammy nominations have already been announced.  We’ll find out who all the winners are next month.

Right here, on WordPress, bloggers continue to receive the nod from fellow bloggers, on a daily basis.

And it seems my blog is up for another award.  The Beautiful Blogger.

You’ll be very grateful to know my acceptance speech is very short and sweet.  I will not be clutching a cheat sheet full of notes and names.

I will not be thanking everyone I’ve ever known, including the doctor who delivered me (may he rest in peace), any of my teachers (may they also rest in peace), ex boyfriends (may they … never mind), the guy who sold me my first computer, or anyone who’s ever laughed at any of my jokes.

I will not be walking the red carpet.  There will be no flashbulbs going off in my face.  No handlers.  No stylist.  There’s no borrowed designer gown waiting in my closet.  Therefore, no wardrobe malfunctions either.  Nor will I be dripping in millions of dollars worth of Harry Winston bijoux.  No tuxedo-clad date.

I will have no hair extensions, false eyelashes or botox injections.  I will not be teetering around on five inch heels.  I will not be quaffing Veuve Clicquot at the Vanity Fair after party.  And Brad and Angelina and George Clooney and whats-her-name have nothing to fear.  I will not be stealing their thunder.

But I would like to thank Sofia Siberia for thinking enough of my blog to nominate me for the Beautiful Blogger Award.  It is much appreciated.  Sofia’s roots are Russian-Mongolian.  She lives up in the mountains and, because of several days of non-stop snow, she’s been house-bound, roasting chestnuts and drinking hot chocolate.  She might be ready for some company, so go visit her blog and she what she’s up to.  HINT:  She lives on love, laughter, fun and creativity.

Excuse me for a minute while I try to figure out if there are seven factoids you don’t already know about me.

  1. I am far more sentimental than I let on.  I always snivel at weddings.
  2. I make a mean bouillabaisse.  I cram it full of monk fish, grouper, shrimp, mussels, clams and lobster.  And even make my own stock.
  3. I am the world’s worst ironer.  I put creases in.
  4. I put hot sauce on everything.  Even eggs.
  5. I read the books I love over and over again.  Knowing the ending never stops me.
  6. I am a great parallel parker.  Never more than a inch or two from the curb.
  7. I like playing Monopoly.  Be warned.  I can be quite vicious.

We are supposed to nominate seven bloggers, but as you know, I’ve been doing a lot of nominating lately.  So today I’m introducing you to two blogs I’ve just recently discovered.  Both feature photography, with some accompanying commentary.  Both will have you drooling.  One for food, the other for travel.

Food, Photography & France.  Roger, an advertising and editorial photographer turned food photographer, and his wife Jenny moved to France permanently in 2001.  Now they run digital photography courses, with a strong gastronomic leaning.  His photos are beautiful, and are guaranteed to make your mouth water.  And the stories are interesting and charming.  Don’t be surprised if you decide to take one of his courses.  Take loose-fitting clothes, though.  Because I know you’ll want to eat everything you photograph.

Gasm Travels.  There’s a descriptive title for you, don’t you think?  Susan loves to travel.  And so when she was trying to come up with a name for her blog, she tried to find a word to describe how excited she gets when she’s travelling, or even just planning a trip.  She’s been all over Africa, Asia, Europe and more.  I promise when you see her photography (she’s a pro, by the way), and read her notes you’ll be packing your bags.  Don’t forget your camera!

Sorry, you can’t leave just yet.  A moment for the rules:

  • Copy the Beautiful Blogger Award logo and place it in your post.
  • Thank the person who nominated you and create a link back to their blog.
  • Nominate 7 other bloggers for their own Beautiful Blogger Award.

Okay, that’s it.  Let’s party!!

34 thoughts on “Day 160. Acceptance Speeches

  1. Three cheers for receiving another well-deserved award! It would have been fun to see you receive it at the Golden Globes this evening. I have no doubt your acceptance speech would have been the best!

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence:). Some of those speeches! Boy oh boy! I sit there and cringe. Why can’t they just say “thank you” and sit down?

  2. Congrats !!
    Hot sauce on eggs huh? Will definitely try that sometime soon …though if something happens …nah never mind I was never the experimenting type anyways…great post though and congrats again ! 🙂

  3. Congratulations on your award 🙂

    I’d given up watching award shows ages ago; personally find them a bit boring.

  4. That was the best acceptance speech ever. I am disappointed that there won’t be hair extensions but suggest you forward to some of the nominees who seem to make the dumbest speeches ever whenever they win something!

    • Thanks. Hey, how are you? What’s new in your world? Great to hear from you. Sorry but you won’t find the 5-inch heels in my closet. I’d break my neck for sure. Looking at them gives me vertigo 🙂

  5. Pingback: Gasm Travels Second Blogger Award Nomination | Gasm Travels

Leave a Reply

