Day 163. Finding Truth

Last Friday night I had dinner with a friend.  We hadn’t seen each other for a quite a while, so we had a lot to catch up on.  There have been a lot of changes in her inner voicelife (all good).  I had a few revelations to share, so we really took our time. We enjoyed a leisurely meal,  punctuated with much conversation.

We worked together years ago, when I first moved to Toronto.  Turned out she’s as cat crazy as I am; and we bonded over our feline friends.  So it goes without saying we had to spend some time bringing each other up to date on our four-legged children.  She’s renovating her condo, so we also talked a bit about that.

But she’s got a new man in her life.   And I had a gazillion (slight exaggeration) questions.

When it was ‘my’ turn, all I wanted to talk about was my writing.  Yeah, yeah, I know.  “All work and no play makes Jane a dull girl”.  What can I say?  My writing is going exceptionally well (knock on wood).  I’m excited.  And wanted to share.  She spent a few years writing a book (since abandoned), so she gets it.

Like I’ve said in a few other posts, I didn’t have a particular agenda when I started this blog, almost six months ago.  One day I woke up and decided to challenge myself.  To force myself to write each and every day.  Topic to be determined.  Each and every day.  I had no idea what to expect.

Would I be up to it?  Would I have the discipline to keep at it?  Would I get stuck?  Would I run out of ideas?  Would it start to feel like ‘work’?  Would it start to become a drag?  Would I get bored?  Would I be sorry I’d ever thought of doing it?  Would I last?  Would the blog?

It never occurred to me to wonder whether anyone in the blogosphere would like it.  Read it.  Keep reading it.  I wasn’t being arrogant.  At the time I’d simply considered it an exercise for myself.  Something ‘neat’ to try.

What has happened has absolutely astounded me.  And thrills me down to the ground.

To find folks like what I’m doing.  Amazing.  So much so, they give me awards.  More amazing.  To find WordPress curators like it enough to get Freshly Pressed.  Beyond amazing.  To find I like what I’m doing.  Hallelujah.  The satisfaction I get from sticking with it.  From writing every day.  To see how my writing’s improving.  Evolving.  It’s all just one big WOW!

The very best, though, is, this blog’s helping me ‘see’ a path to a dream I’ve had for a long time.  It’s helping me find my truth.

Advertising has been very good to me.  But it’s not what I want to do for the rest of my life.  Never was.  I have always wanted to do more ‘editorial’ writing.  Over the years I have done a bit.  Occasionally reporting on fashion for one of Montreal’s daily newspapers; and some fairly regular work for a couple of advertising trade publications.

But I’ve always hoped writing for magazines and newspapers would become my ‘second’ career.

You’d think it wouldn’t be that difficult.  I’ve been writing for more than thirty years.  Sadly, though, it means nothing.  Journalism and advertising are two different worlds.  Two entirely different ‘beasts’.  Separation of church and state, and all that.  So a successful career and tons of experience as a copywriter, means nothing to an editor.  And now, because most publications are struggling financially, it’s even tougher to break into an industry where your experience is rather limited.

This blog, as it turns out, is more ‘journalistic’ in nature.  Here, I express opinions.  Share my observations.  And thoughts.  Here, I discuss issues I believe are important, not just to me, but hopefully to all of us.  Here, I speak my mind.

This blog, and your reaction to it, tells me I can stop thinking of myself as simply a writer of ads.  I’m  a writer.  And my dream can become my reality.  I may not have known it at the time, but I now know why I started this blog.

To find my truth.

About two hours after I’d arrived home, I got an email from Debbie.  This was all it said:

“Seek out that particular mental attribute which makes you feel most deeply and vitally alive, along with which comes the inner voice which says:  This is the real me.  And when you have found that attitude, follow it.”  William James

31 thoughts on “Day 163. Finding Truth

  1. That’s a fantastic quote. Great post. Strange how this simple blogging can change so much in your life? I too am making some career moves now due to my experiences with my blog. I’ve been at it since late October of 2012…now looking seriously at finally following that thing that makes me feel “vitally alive”…and thats Web Developing.

    Good luck

    • My job has been writing. It has just been in the advertising industry and I want to write outside of that industry. Write more than ads and commercials and websites etc.

  2. I’m also in advertising, sales part, and I know it can be stressful and sometimes unrewarding. I’m glad you enjoy blogging, you have a knack for it. I really think you should give the journalism thing a shot, all they can say is “you’re too fantastic for us” 🙂

    • Thanks. Oh, I don’t mind the stress. And I have always found the work I’ve done in advertising rewarding. I don’t hate the business at all. I’ve had a great and successful career. Want to do more, and different kinds of writing is all.

  3. What I like about writing a blog is it puts my mind in a different place. It takes away the concentration o the petty things people concern themselves with and keeps me looking for original, entertaining subjects. It’s a healthier place to be. Good luck, Francie; use your gift and bring pleasure to your many readers and admirers.

    • You’re right. It does that for me, too. Writing in general does it for me. I go into a ‘zone’. Sounds like you do, as well. We’re lucky.

  4. You took on quite a challenge to post every day, in my humble opinion. I have so enjoyed watching your blog evolve. How wonderful for you that this commitment has revealed a path to your dream. Bravo! I’m very much looking forward to your book, too. Perhaps an autographed copy? 🙂

    • You bet! It will be my pleasure. Hot off the press. Thanks for all your encouragement. I will have to thank all my blogging buddies in the acknowledgements.

  5. I am happy that you have found your truth. To be honest, I think people confused mediums (jobs) with purpose. In your case, I believe that your purpose is related to expressing yourself. Writing is just the medium that you use to express yourself. So even though advertising and journalism both require writing, their purposes are two entirely different things. I believe that you can use any medium, and still if you use the same purpose, then you will be happy because you are fulfilling that purpose in your life.

    It took me a while to realize (and I am still working on it), but my true nature is a combination of my love to learn, creativity, and sharing. I used to think that it would be difficult for me to “find a job” because I had too many interests! Then, I realized that I was getting lost in the different jobs/mediums and focusing less on my purpose, which was making me unhappy. So, I reverted back to what I loved to do: learn, create, share. Even as a child, I can recall that those are the things I enjoyed doing the most. It does matter if it’s in music, Korean, writing, math, physics, or computer science. All of those subjects bring me back to what I enjoy. I am glad that you are finding and enjoying your true nature. 🙂

    • You are SO right. My purpose is to express myself. I also enjoy doing it through photography. And I’m glad you’re figuring out your true nature. Although I think we spend our entire lives figuring it out because we change.

Leave a Reply

