Day 184. Six Months

It’s hard to believe, but it’s been six months since I started “three hundred sixty-five“, on August 7, 2012.  Six months!  Half a year.  I’m at the midway point.  Very slightly beyond, in fact.  Okay, a day or two beyond.time flies  But still.

And never, in my wildest imagination, did I ever think I’d be having this much fun.  Never, in my wildest imagination, did I ever think I’d have ‘met’ all of you.  Or that we’d be having the ‘conversations’ we’ve been having here, on my blog; and also on yours.

Never, in my wildest imagination, did I ever think I’d be Freshly Pressed; or I’d have been acknowledged with all the awards YOU have all been kind enough and generous enough and thoughtful enough to give me.  Never, in my wildest imagination, did I ever think I’d be part of a community like our WordPress community.

Never.

And, yet, here I am.  Here WE are.

I’ve had lots of blogs over the years.  Four years on WordPress, actually.  And one on Travellerspoint, before that.  But none have ever been this fulfilling; or, frankly, as well read.  None have ever elicited the kind of response I get regularly, here.  And none have been as challenging for me.

Which was my starting point.

To challenge myself.  To formally commit to writing each and every day.  Come rain or shine.  Come hell or high water.  Whether I’m in the mood, or not.  Whether I wake up with an idea, or not.  Whether I want to roll over and go back to sleep, or not.  Whether I’m pressed for time, or not.  Whether there’s something else I’d rather do, or not.  Whether there’s something else I have to do, or not.  Whether I’d rather be anywhere else, but in front of my computer, or not.  Whether I’m literally bursting with thoughts and feelings and opinions and frustrations and news I absolutely must share, or not.

And, yet, here I am.  Here WE are.

Six months in.  184 posts.  God knows how many words.  More than a novel’s worth, for sure.  Almost 12,000 views.  With readers and followers all over the map.  Literally:

In the United States.  Canada.  United Kingdom.  India.  Australia.  Ireland.  France.  Singapore.  Poland.  Belgium.  Thailand.  Germany.  Philippines.  Malaysia.  Netherlands.  Sweden.  Republic of Korea.  Italy.  Oman.  Indonesia.  Brazil.  Switzerland.  Japan.  Peru.  Norway.  Portugal.  Pakistan.  Sri Lanka.  Hong Kong.  Finland.  Spain.  Denmark.  Israel.  Jamaica.  Croatia.  Mexico.  Latvia.  Panama.  Saint Lucia.  Virgin Islands.  New Zealand.  South Africa.  United Arab Emirates.  And Viet Nam.

In Saudi Arabia.  Jordan.  Romania.  Lebanon.  Venezuela.  Turkey.  Russian Federation.  Morocco.  Tunisia.  Bulgaria.  Austria.  Bangladesh.  Kenya.  Estonia.  Hungary.  Ukraine.  Uganda.  Namibia.  Trinidad and Tobago.  Montenegro.  Taiwan.  Mauritius.  Ecuador.  Greece.  Honduras.  Slovenia.  Serbia.  Kuwait.  Barbados.  Ghana.  Bermuda.  Botswana.  Argentina.  Yemen.  Egypt.  Libya.  Bahrain.  And Bosnia and Herzegovina.

In Costa Rica.  Senegal.  Zambia.  Nicaragua.  Bahamas.  Chile.  Mongolia.  Dominican Republic.  Albania.  Czech Republic.  Nigeria.  Bolivia.  Palestinian Territory, Occupied.  Somalia.  Armenia.  San Marino.  Slovakia.  Moldova.  Lithuania.  Isle of Man. Columbia . And, last but not least, in Iceland.

You’ve left me almost 1900 comments.  I’ve written on 200 different topics (categories).  I’ve used almost 1800 tags.  And I’ve got followers on WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Tumblr.  I’ve even gotten viewers through Reddit.  I’ve been shared on Facebook and LinkedIn.  I’ve been re-tweeted and re-blogged.

Never, in my wildest imagination.

And yet, here I am.  Here WE are.

When I started this blog, it was still summer.  We were barely into August.  It was still hot and winter seemed far, far away.  Together, we watched the leaves turn yellow and orange and red, throughout the Fall.  We watched as the trees became bare, as the snow started to fall, as the temperatures dropped.  We spent Labour Day together.  Both Canadian and U.S. Thanksgiving.  Christmas and New Years.  I hardly noticed.

Because time sure DOES fly when you’re having fun!

Thank you so much for hanging in with me.  Your loyalty, your participation and your encouragement is the reason why the first thing I want to do in the morning, is turn on my computer.  The reason why I look forward to blogging.  The reason why I’m having such a great time with this.  You inspire me.  You really do.

Never, in my wildest imagination.

And yet, here I am.  Here WE are.

Spring is now just around the corner; and, before we know it, we’ll be right back, where we started.  In summer.  This blog will have come full circle.  I guess I better start thinking about what I’m going to do six months from now.  It’ll be here before we know it.

24 thoughts on “Day 184. Six Months

  1. Congratulations! Milestones are fun to celebrate! You have done so much here in so little time!

    I was curious which post of yours initially led me to your blog, and oddly enough, it was your 2 month milestone post on October 5th! Had you not dropped this line into that post:

    “Some days I have several ideas; and I write them all up, saving them and putting them away for another day, like a squirrel storing nuts for the winter.”

    I would not have been a part of your audience for the past 4 months! I look forward to the next six months and beyond!

Leave a Reply

