Day 186. Topsy Turvy

I do it quite often. It’s because I get bored, after a while, with the more conventional choices. Or because I start craving a different kind of comfort food. You have no idea french toastwhat I’m talking about, do you?

Flipping things around. Having breakfast for dinner.

Savoury sausages, cooked just long enough to have a crust on the outside. So they ‘snap’ when you bite into them. Chorizo’s my favourite. Soft, fluffy scrambled eggs. I do make THE best scrambled eggs, by the way. Just because I like you, I’ll share my secrets:

Add some cream or milk to the eggs. Don’t add the salt or pepper until they’re finished cooking. DON’T beat them. Whisk them. And DON’t over whisk. Unsalted butter is best. Melt the butter, in the skillet, over a high heat. But then immediately reduce it to a VERY low flame once you put the eggs in.

The idea is to cook them GENTLY. So they are not overcooked. So they are creamy. And soft. And light. And fluffy. Then add whatever seasoning you want. And eat them IMMEDIATELY. Don’t let them just sit there,

waiting for you. They will harden, and get dry.

Mmmmm. Gorgeous!

Not that you asked, but I like them with a few snips of fresh chives tossed on top.

Must also have home fries. Another one of my specialties. Sliced tomatoes, when they’re in season, and don’t taste like wood shavings. A nice, buttery croissant; and some really good marmalade. Or fabulous bread, toasted. Sourdough, maybe?

Damn! Now I don’t want the tilapia I was planning on having for dinner tonight.

But I should really get back to what I had for dinner last night. It was breakfast, but it wasn’t eggs. They were just an ingredient, not the main attraction. Last night was french toast and crispy bacon. Hit the spot.

Just in case you’re about to leap to the wrong conclusion, my french toast did not come out of a box, all ready to go into the toaster. Mine was made from scratch. Not that it’s very difficult. It’s not like there were hours of prep time or anything. Or half a day of cooking. I wasn’t making duck confit. Just french toast. But man, was it good.

When I really want to get fancy, I sometimes add vanilla to the eggs. And cinnamon or nutmeg. Or both. On occasion I’ve even been known to add some Grand Marnier. And caramelize pecans to use as a garnish. Not this time, though. I just wanted good, old-fashioned, plain french toast. But where I draw the line is, the bread has to be high quality.

Last night I used brioche. Big, thick slices. It does make lovely french toast, because it’s not dense. It’s light. Airy. And so is the finished product. And again, the key is, cook it over a medium low flame. You want it to cook slowly, and turn golden brown. Not all charred and burned. I didn’t even sprinkle powdered sugar on it. Just served it with pure Vermont maple syrup. The real deal. And bacon, of course. Crispy.

Which I cook under the broiler. After years of dealing with hot, spattered bacon fat burning my hands and my face and just making a royal mess on the stove top and even the walls, I finally got fed up.

A couple of minutes on each side and you’re done. No fuss. No muss. I line the bottom of the broiling pan with tin foil, so that’s even a breeze. It collects all the drippings; and I just have to roll it up and throw it away. All you have to clean is the top. No big deal.

Mmmmm …. Mmmmm …. it was good.

So tell me. What’s the difference if I like eating my breakfast at dinner time? Especially as I’ve been known to eat cold, leftover pizza for breakfast.

43 thoughts on “Day 186. Topsy Turvy

  1. I eat breakfast for dinner quite regularly, although I’ve never had French toast with bacon. I shall have to try it some time.
    And as for your claim to scrambled egg stardom…I challenge you a scrambled egg off one day. My eggs shall not be shamed 😛

  2. Oh Fransi, now we are getting to more interesting part. That delicious scrambled eggs got me drooling. It’s going to be dinner time here soon and I would mind having that breakfast tonight. Yummmm. Jo 🙂 PS: Are are any more recipes like this????

      • All right. Put your apron on and sharpen your knives. Here’s one to get you started. To go along with the eggs. The home fries I wrote about.

        Peel and cut some potatoes in half, or quarters if they are really large. Boil them in salted water until they are almost soft, but not quite. It is good to do this the day before you need them; or at least several hours ahead so they are cool when you start the second step.

        Slice an onion (or more depending on how many people you are feeding). Saute (medium low flame) the onion in butter until soft and transparent. You will probably have to add some more butter when you add the potatoes (once the onions are soft and just starting to turn brown).

        Keep mixing the mixture, tossing and turning so the potatoes and onions get golden brown on all sides. The objective is for the potatoes to have a crust on the outside but to be really soft on the inside. Add salt and pepper to taste when they are almost done.

        Garnish with some snipped fresh chives or finely chopped Italian parsley. Bon appetit.

        .

  3. Thank you, dear. So sweet of you to share that recipe with me. I will surely try it your way even though, you see, the potatoes here do not taste the same as they do in Europe. When I was researching about my last article, I was checking on the Caribbean food. I read that Caribbean country-style ribs are good. Fransi, If you come across that recipe, share it with me pls. Jo x

  4. Now your talking my language! One of my favorite things to do during the summer is to grill vegies, ( mushrooms, tomatoes, peppers, onions, asparagus, squash) Then the next day i use the left overs to have breakfast for dinner…delicious omelets with yummy cheeses and those wonderful veggies and fresh crusty bread, and bloody Mary’s. I’m talking Heaven!

  5. Ready made french toast in a box??? Has someone actually invented that? And if so…. why? When the original is so easy and so GOOD? I like big thick slices of bread but really well soaked in the eggs, not just a token dip 😀

    I’ll throw my hat in the ring for the scrambled egg challenge too – not a drop of milk shall go near my eggs!!! No, just butter butter, more butter and some cream… fresh parsley & thyme straight from the garden (apart from the milk, my cooking method is similar to yours – gently melt the butter, eggs straight into the saucepan while itthe butter is melting, on low heat & whisk gently, the fresh herbs & a good dollop of cream about a minute before the end). Parfait 🙂

    • Mmmm . Sounds good. I love thyme. Also good with a dollop of creme fraiche and a dollop of caviar. Even the cheap red stuff.

      Yes, frozen french toast. Why, I do not know because as we all agree it is SO easy to make it yourself.

  6. Just because I like to be contrary, I will admit to being one of the few people on earth who does not like most traditional breakfast foods at all (with the exception of bacon, and my bacon used to gobble, not oink!) Of course, with my work schedule, I don’t know whether to call dinner breakfast or breakfast dinner…. but I can say there will be no eggs or sausage involved in either… 🙂

  7. Ahhh, home fries! I can eat potatoes any way at all except that home fries need to be pan fried not deep fried like some restaurants do. I like French fries but that is a different story!

  8. A battle of scrambled Eggs, I’m in !!!!!!
    My recipe is very Indian and pretty spicy so beware
    I finely dice one tomato, and one medium sized onion and a clove of garlic. I take a deep skillet and but some oil in. Once the oil is heated I add the onions and garlic, once the onions start getting glassy I add the tomatoes and let it simmer until the tomatoes get soft. When the tomatoes get soft I add a tsp of turmeric powder, one tsp of red chilly powder (I usually put more) and some paprika powder if I think it needs to be more orange. When all the ingredients are molten hot without having started burning I add two large eggs and mix it in. Add salt to taste and don’t over stir it, as soon as the eggs start coming together turn off the heat. I like my eggs kinda runny but you can lave it in the pan for a minute if you want it to cook some more but not more than that or it will get tough.

    I know it sounds a bit heavy handed with the spices but I promise you it’s delicious
    P.S

    I love french tost

    • Sounds delicious. I will have tobtry that. When I was in India my favourite breakfast was a masala omelette. And some papaya and yoghurt. I have never had yoghurt as delicious as the yoghurt I had in India.

  9. Breakfast for dinner ROCKS. And it’s very nice for single moms with a tight budget! (BTW, I cook a whole pound of bacon in the oven on a cookie sheet at 350 when I purchase it. Then, when you’re ready for a slice, 20 seconds in the microwave and you’re good to go.)

  10. Another vote for breakfast any time! Not a drop of milk in my scrambled eggs either, Fransi, but I am with you 100% on using brioche for French toast! If we weren’t snowed in tonight, I would pop next door and buy some. You’ve very effectively put my taste buds on high alert!

Leave a Reply

