Post 212. Keep Smiling

Whew!  Yesterday was weird.  It was a glorious, mild, sunny day.  I was in the BEST mood!  I literally skipped out of my apartment.  Was still happy when I arrived atnewleaf the hospital for my day of volunteering.

And then, WHACK!!  One after another, every single person I encountered was cranky.  CRANKY.  Grumpy.  And rude.  Every single person.  Un-bloody-believeable!  I got snapped at.  Snarled at.  Had fingers pointed at me.  Waved under my nose.

“What do YOU want?”, I was asked.  “I have NO time for you”, I was told.  “Close the damn door, I’m cold!”.   And on it went.  Oh yes, this was just the beginning.  But there is light at the end of the tunnel.  Because I’ve turned over a new leaf.

No way I was going to allow those grumps to ruin my day.  To wipe the smile off my face.  No way.

Shit happens.  We’ve all had bad days.  We’ve all been in bad moods.  We’ve all woken up on the wrong side of the bed.  So I DO try to cut people some slack.  But I have NO time for people who are rude.  I don’t care what kind of a day you’re having, you can at least make an effort to be polite to others.  We didn’t cause your problem, so please don’t inflict it on us.

There have been times a morning like I had yesterday would have ruined my entire day.  But not yesterday.  Call it an epiphany.  Call it an AHA moment.  Call it whatever you want to call it.  The fact is, I realized I had (and will always have) control over my own moods.  That I can either allow, or refuse to allow, others to affect me.  Whether or not I let them ruin my day, in other words, is completely up to me.

This was also brought home by a comment made by Cup Cake Travels on my Tuesday post.  I had written about thinking nice thoughts while I was having my photo taken for my driver’s license renewal; and she said she “liked the idea of thinking nice thoughts, and it would come in handy in other situations as well”.

Well, if ever there was a perfect time to put that into practice, it was yesterday.  Which is exactly what I did.

I thought of friends who make me smile.  I imagined what my cats were up to, in my absence.  I looked outside and admired the bright blue sky.  I told myself I was lucky to be healthy and volunteering in the hospital, instead of being a patient.  I celebrated, in my mind, the new client I just started working with.  I reflected on all the encouragement and positive feedback I get from you.

I crossed “renew driver’s license” off my to-do list.  That made me laugh out loud.  I remembered how delicious my grandmother’s blueberry pie was.  I thought about my closest friend’s two grand nephews, who are THE cutest kids you’ll ever meet.

The smile on my face was huge.  I didn’t have to see it.  I could feel it.  Admittedly there were a few people who looked at me a bit strangely, but who cares.  So they thought I was weird.  So what.  I was happy, happy, happy.  That’s what matters.

Most important of all, though, I decided to have a good day.  And that’s exactly what I had.  And I plan on having another one, today.

26 thoughts on “Post 212. Keep Smiling

  1. What you described is what I call the key to intentional living. It is to define who you are instead of allowing yourself to be defined by who others are. Well done. It’s not easy to begin that process, but after we get some discipline around it, it gets easier.

  2. Ha! I like doing that too. It makes people wonder what mischief you’re up to. I’ve had to take this a step further. Not only do I force myself to be cheerful and not get sucked into negativity and complaints, I also make myself think, “what is this moment/person trying to teach me?” In the past year, I’ve found that that question has made it easier to deal with people who don’t have the same commitment to happiness or positivity.

  3. Ahhhh, the high road! I try to take this approach, but when faced with the people you were yesterday, I usually cave in and end up fighting fire with fire. I can outgrump almost anyone when i set my mind to it… 😉

    • I know, I read it on your blog. Thank you very much. Don’t know if you have read any of my blogs where I have mentioned that I am ‘retiring’ from awards for a while. Please don’t take it personally or think I don’t appreciate the fact you think my blog is worthy. On the contrary I do. But I have gotten a lot and am taking a rest. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

      • No problem, I’m going to do the same. I had forgotten about your post saying so–sorry about that! You know I think your blog is terrific!

        Thinking about adding a note to my posts letting people know that I appreciate the thought and love that they’re reading. Interesting stuff is happening in the garden and I want to focus on documenting spring.

      • No worries. For me it’s all about the thought. I love that you like my blog; and you know I love yours. The awards are a good way of demonstrating that. And of course as good direct marketers, you and I understand the value and importance of results, and loyalty :). But it does involve a lot of time and work and effort. I just need a wee rest. And you need to create in your fabulous garden!

    • Thanks! At first it WAS really hard because I was so taken aback. But once I realized I didn’t have to become my problem and ruin my day it put me in an even better mood than I was in to start with.

  4. Maybe it’s the “evil” in me but I always try to start each day off in a happy mood knowing that doing so only irritates the grumps even more. I find retiring at night in good form gives the new dawn a great kick start.

  5. Good for you, Fransi! That’s the way to work it … every day … no matter how much crapola rains down on you. Added bonus: that bright smile and sunny disposition of yours just might brighten the day for some of those crankypants you encounter! Rock on!

      • Yes, you’re right that’s when we really need the skill. Now, thanks to your post the other day, I keep catching myself smiling & almost laughing when I’m walking down the street – I now think I’ve been doing this all along without realising it! I really need more self control…

      • Yes, we just need to become aware. I catch myself at it all the time. And it makes me laugh, because I am sure people think I’m nuts. I’ve caught them looking at me as if I am. It’s such fun!

Leave a Reply

