Day 223. Gone Drinkin’

Top o’ the mornin’ to ya!  Hope you’re all doing well on this somewhat chilly St. Patrick’s Day.  Definitely need some long johns if you’re out there, waiting for the FD004819parade to pass you by.

Or, better yet, a wee flask.

(nudge, nudge).

Or maybe not so wee, after all.  Better still.

As I look at this photo of green beer, I’m reminded of a particular St. Patrick’s Day, from a long time ago.  I was still in Montreal, working at J. Walter Thompson which was, at the time, the largest ad agency in the world.  It was in the very early days of my career.  I worked on the Kraft account.  And, the President, at that time, was an Irish lad.

Well, somewhat older than a ‘lad’, but who cares.  Today, we’re all lads and lassies, regardless of age.

I’m honestly not sure if it’s still in their product line-up, but back then, they made horseradish.  And, on the 17th of March, we all arrived at the agency to find a jar of bright emerald green horseradish on our desks, courtesy of Kraft.  Who were

certainly one of our largest clients, if not the largest.  It was a cute gesture, although not especially appetizing.

Not that the intent was for us to eat it.  It was, I am sure, just meant to be fun.  I kept mine on the shelf over my desk until it turned a disgusting shade of grey.  It didn’t age well, although it did take a couple of years to lose its colour.  God knows how many preservatives were in it.

All I know is, there were quite a few people who would have preferred a nice bottle of Irish whiskey.  So there was a bit of griping, as I recall.  Didn’t last long, though.  There was never any shortage of booze in agencies in those days.  And it started flowing pretty damn early.  The day was just about a total a write-off.

The ‘green’ theme carried over into the next day.  But it was restricted to the colour on everyone’s faces.  Yeah, most of the staff were more than a little green around the gills.

You could have heard a pin drop.  Not much talking going on.  Not much of anything, actually.

It would come as no surprise to me to learn the last thing you want to be doing on St. Paddy’s Day, is listen to me nattering on.  So I’m going to make this post short and sweet.  I wouldn’t want to keep you from all the fun.

But before I let you go, an Irish blessing:

May your blessings outnumber

The shamrocks that grow,

And may trouble avoid you

Wherever you go.

8 thoughts on “Day 223. Gone Drinkin’

    • Many thanks. This is very kind and generous of you. I am very lucky in that my blog has been recognized with many awards. So for now I am taking a bit of a rest and giving other bloggers a chance for some well deserved recognition. I hope you understand. And I also hope you understand that I very much appreciate your doing this. All the best to you, as well.

Leave a Reply

