Day 244. Nice Day

When I went to bed on Friday night, I had all kinds of plans for Saturday.  I’d heard it was going to be warm, almost 60 degrees warm.  It’s been a long time since we readinghad temperatures so balmy here, in Toronto.  So I had every intention of spending as much of the day as possible, outdoors.

I stayed up too late, though.  It was well after 1:00 a.m. when I finally got into bed.  So I was a bit wrecked when I got up.  I blogged, fed the cats and found myself back in bed, where I promptly fell back asleep.  I’m embarrassed to tell you what time I woke up.

Let’s just say I must have been really tired.

Not quite ready to venture out of bed, I started reading blogs.  One or two in, I found myself at Word by Word, one of my favourites.  I loved the day Claire was writing about.  Although it was raining in Provence, where she lives, she was going to an English book sale.

She talked about how, even though she doesn’t need any more books, it wasn’t stopping her.  I can relate.  I don’t need any more books, either.  I have stacks of them I haven’t gotten around to reading yet.  But I keep buying them.  I just can’t help myself.  If I read an interesting review, or I wander by a book store, I can’t resist.

Back to Claire.  So she went to the book sale and walked out with seven books.  And then she went home to lose herself in her new purchases.  A perfect way to spend a rainy day.

The more of her blog I read, the more I wished it was raining here.  I had rainy-day-in-Provence envy.  Well, not really, but you know what I mean.  If your weekend has to be soggy, it would somehow be nicer if you were in France, don’t you think?  Curled up with a book or two.  And maybe a nice bowl of cafe au lait.  Or a glass of wine.  Claire didn’t mention wine.  But she did talk about roasting chickens, baguettes and chocolate eclairs.  Mmmmm …

Well, I couldn’t do anything about that.  Blinking and finding myself in France, that is.  But I could stay home and read, if I felt like it.  No law about not being able to read if it’s not wet outside.  So that’s what I did.  Didn’t miss much weather wise, because it never got warm.  It was sunny, all right.  But very cold.  Perfect day for staying indoors with a book.

There’s one I started a while ago, but never got past the first chapter.  Nothing wrong with it.  I quite liked it.  I just got distracted and busy, put it down and forgot about it.  It’s called “The Longest Way Home”, by Andrew McCarthy.  An actor in his youth, a confused and messed up McCarthy ended up walking the Camino de Santiago, in Spain.

While it came about as an accident (if you believe in accidents), it inspired him to become a travel writer.  The book, which is described as a travel memoir, is about all the globe trotting he’s done, in an effort to figure himself out.  And find the answers to some of the more pressing questions he has about life, and his own life, in particular.

It’s something I can relate to, as I am sure you can, as well.  It’s the reason a lot of people travel.  I remember my doctor telling me, when I went for all my shots for India that, after listening to me go on and on non-stop for about half an hour about my upcoming trip, she knew I was going on a life journey, not a vacation.  She was right, even though I didn’t know it at the time.

Funny, yesterday seemed to be my ‘escape’ day.  I read a book about traveling most of the afternoon and watched Eat, Pray, Love for what has to be the hundredth time on TV last night.

Do you think the Universe is trying to tell me something?  Should I be packing?

39 thoughts on “Day 244. Nice Day

  1. I counted the books waiting to be read by my bed the other day: there are 29, and they don’t include the ones on my Kindle… I had no idea that Andrew McCarthy was a travel writer so will check that out. I recently read Wild, by Cheryl Strayed and really enjoyed it but I absolutely couldn’t get into Eat, Pray, Love (and rarely do I start a book and not finish it) and haven’t watched the film – maybe I should give it a go…

    • Wild is one of the books on my pile, waiting to be read. I read Eat, Pray Love ages and ages ago. Long before it became a bestseller. I was visiting cousins out of town and I finished the book I’d brought with me and my cousin’s wife gave it to me. I was at a time of my life when I was ready for change and adventure. It was THE perfect book to read at the time. Although I have always wanted to go to India I am sure that book is the reason I just finally did it.

      • Maybe I will try it again! Have you read Shantaram? That’s a great book about India, and one of my all time favourite books is Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance.

      • Read both and loved them both. Did you read Secret Daughter? It was fabulous! I was sorry when I finished it.

      • Hi, I read Secret Daughter, (in less than 24 hours!) – great recommendation, thank you very much. I also took White Tiger on holiday with me from my by-the-bed pile. I had been putting off reading it forever, not quite sure why, but if you haven’t read that I would recommend that too. Thanks!

  2. I often think it’s more the romantic idea of ‘being’ somewhere else, rather than the physical going there that is the attraction…if that makes sense. But if you have the calling then I would go for it!

    • I agree with you about the romantic notion of going. But I have had wanderlust for a while now. Have to do something about it soon, I think.

  3. I figured there must have been a party going on over here, since there are traces of visitors that left your place and came to visit mine and now I see why 🙂 Hey, don’t you love that we can virtual visit anywhere? Seriously, I feel like a part of me has even been to Toronto now, since I started following you and Patricia! I am sure it would feel familiar when I do finally visit.

    So happy to have inspired you on my rainy day, it made me laugh your comment, well I’m not surprised that I can inspire someone to read a book, but to inspire someone to wish for a rainy day – ah well let me guess – she’s an optimist, right! 🙂 You know how to see the sunny side of a rainy day Fransi 🙂 and that’s why I love visiting here, because even when it’s raining the sun shines out of all your words! Merci encore!

    And yes, pack your packs and come to France! All of you!

    • Haha! I love it. You did inspire me to wish for a rainy day! And yes, I do love it that we can go virtually anywhere, here. I swear I could see your neighbour talking to you from her balcony and I was also at the book sale. The chicken was delicious, by the way 🙂

      I have met Patricia you know. We had coffee. So now I think the 3 of us need a little french excursion. And I think you should come to TO, as well.

  4. I think the universe is telling you about what you already desire. 🙂 I love traveling too. Sometimes, I think about how nice it would be to freely travel from one place to another and not be tied down to just one place.

  5. Hi Fransi … and Claire! What fun to catch the two of you here! I’m a bit late to the party … but that’s me these days! I love how the three of us became friends online first and how that connection is growing. I’ll see you again soon, Fransi, when we get back to Toronto and Claire … September can’t come soon enough! Now we’ll have to plan where we three might rendezvous! BTW, it’s a lovely sunny day in south FL!

    • Hi back. It is great, isn’t it? Yes, we must plan a rendezvous! It would be wonderful. Thinking caps on!

Leave a Reply

