Day 283. Atchoo! Atchoo!!

I can’t remember the last time I had a cold.  I’m almost afraid of saying it out loud, for fear of jinxing myself.  Sadly, though, I think it’s already too late.  Monday coldafternoon, when I got home from a meeting, my throat suddenly felt a bit scratchy and sore.  Then I sneezed a few times.

Uh oh!!

Wouldn’t have been surprised if I was catching a cold.  The weather has been positively bizarre here.  Suddenly we went from winter to summer.  And I do mean suddenly.  One day I was wearing a down-filled coat.  The next I was out with sandals and a T-shirt.

That lasted exactly five days.  And then it was back to the winter coat.  We even had snow flurries.  And in cottage country there was snow.  As in, on the ground.

We needed air conditioning during the day; and at night we needed to put the heat back on.  Everyone’s sick.  I do NOT want to get sick.  So …

Immediately I took an oil of oregano capsule.  Among other things, it strengthens the immune system.  I’m a firm believer in homeopathic remedies whenever possible.

Then I had a hot cup of tea with honey and lemon.  Then I sucked on a zinc tablet.  It is supposed to be very good at helping to fight colds and flu.  About an hour later I began taking Coryzalia once an hour (recommended dose).  It’s another homeopathic medicine used for colds, cold symptoms, congestion, runny noses, etc.

You’re absolutely right.  If I was getting a cold, I wanted to stop it dead in its tracks.

Of course if it’s allergies, because it is the season, this stuff I’m taking won’t help.  I waffled for a bit, truth be told.  Cold?  Allergies?  Cold?  Allergies.  In the end I opted for the cold.

Can’t say I felt sick, except for the occasional sneezing and runny nose.  The sore throat disappeared as quickly as it appeared.  Excellent.

Slept well.

Did not cough or sneeze during the night.  Or at least, if I did, it didn’t wake me up.  So I doubt it.  Woke up Tuesday and promptly sneezed six times in a row.  This isn’t uncommon.  My mother used to do exactly the same thing.  Every day.  My father used to call it her fit.  I have these fits as well, although not often.  My nose was running like a tap.

Uh oh.

Not so sure it was just innocuous, random sneezing.

Continued my regime of homeopathic medicines.  One oil of oregano capsule.  One Coryzalia every hour.  You bite into them and let them dissolve on your tongue.  No bad taste, don’t worry.  More zinc (maximum dose of four per day).

Normally my symptoms would have abated a bit.  This time they didn’t.  By mid-to-late afternoon they were worse.  I was sneezing a lot.  And I went though two purse-sized packets of Kleenex.

By the time I got home from the hospital (volunteer day), I felt really crummy.  Had some soup.  And got directly into bed.  Where I stayed.

Sneezed my head off as soon as I woke up yesterday.  Weird how all those homeopathic meds hadn’t kicked in yet.  Which made me second guess myself.  Could it be allergies, after all?  Why does life have to be so complicated?

Honestly, I felt lousy.  Cancelled all my appointments.  All I had to do was pick up my passport.  That had to be done.  Yes, remember I wrote a post recently and said I’d be renewing my passport.  Well now it’s done.   Again I came home and went straight to bed.  My cats were in heaven.

Me, not so much.

My eyes were tearing.  No, I wasn’t crying.  And my nose was (and still is) red, from all the blowing.  Sneezing, sneezing, sneezing.  It’s starting to piss me off.

But guess what?  I had my last sneezing fit at around 8:00 p.m. last night.

Here’s hoping …

28 thoughts on “Day 283. Atchoo! Atchoo!!

  1. Glad the sneezing’s stopped!

    I sneeze exactly 3 times in rapid succession whenever I forget to eat and feel hungry to the point of being nauseous – but once the 3 sneezes are over, I feel so much better, forget about eating again, and get back to whatever I was doing. Bizarre.

  2. It’s allergy season here and the pollen’s been thick everywhere and lots have ailments of all sorts. My eyes have been really itchy and I pretty much bathe in dirt every day so there’s that. I’ve fared pretty well lately other than my usual stuff haha I hope you feel better. Spring fever has a double meaning! 🙂

    • Thanks. your garden must be looking good. My eyes have been itchy too. Yeah, spring fever sure does have more than one meaning. This meaning sucks! 🙂

  3. I like homeopathic stuff too. Chocolate every hour with a margarita in the evening (with salt of course). I don’t know if I feel better or I just don’t care. Hope you are back to old self soon.

  4. Hopefully it was just a passing cold and you’re on the recovery side. I hadn’t had a cold in two years before it hit me twice this year… the first time in February was drawn out over about a week. It was almost like a case of the flu, though there wasn’t any one day I felt really bad, just icky for 5 days. Then last Wednesday I got walloped by a drive-by bug that literally lasted one evening and was gone. I agree, I think it’s the weird weather this year…

  5. Take care Fransi and whichever it turns out to be, rest and your natural meds will work wonders… at home we are also firm believers in alternative meds, we take some drops made from chinese herbs… My children have not taken antibiotics in years thanks to these natural remedies… Read you soon, Alexandra

  6. Sometimes you just have to give in, rest up and let the body (not the mind) do its work, keeping it fueled, watered and loved. Just like you do for those cats 🙂
    Observe it all, but don’t analyse it too much.
    Bonne santé!

Leave a Reply

