Day 328. New Rules?

Live forever? What an intriguing idea. I wouldn’t mind, would you? There are so many things I’d like to do, so many trips I’d like to take, so many opportunities yet to be seized, I always say there’s magicnot nearly enough time for me to get it all done. It frustrates me, to be honest. Guess that’s why I was so drawn to yesterday’s WordPress Daily Prompt:

“You’ve imbibed a special potion that makes you immortal. Now that you’ve got forever, what changes will you make in your life? How will you live life differently, knowing you’ll always be around to be accountable for your actions?”

Like I said, “interesting”. At first my mind just boggled with all the possibilities.

In my head, I’ve got some thoughts about two books. In addition to the one I’m writing. I’d have plenty of time to write them all; and then some. I’d get to Australia and New Zealand and Tahiti and Fiji and Bali and

Sri Lanka and back to India. I could hop from caribbean island to caribbean island to caribbean island and stay as long as I wanted, never having to look at my watch. Really live on island time.

I’d get back to Paris for that month-long trip exploring different arrondissements every day. I’d have plenty of time for a month or two in Provence and then Sicily and then Bologna and then Tuscany. I could cruise the Mediterranean for as long as I wanted. I could spend as long as I wanted in Africa, working with village women and elephants and giraffes. Years, even. Or decades.

You know that movie, “Around The World In Eighty Days”? Hell. I could take eighty years!

Imagine having eighty years to do anything. Now imagine how it wouldn’t even make a dent in how much time you had. What’s eighty years, or eighty centuries, when you’ve got all the time in the world? Literally, all the time. Like, F O R E V E R. And ever. And ever.

WOW! It’s somewhat daunting, don’t you think?

It’s a lot to take in, you know. No, not the trips or the activities or the book writing. The no-end-in-sight, is what I’m talking about.

But enough daydreaming, for the moment.

The question is, what changes would any of us make, knowing we’d be accountable for our actions. That’s where I came to a grinding halt. I thought about it. And thought about it some more. In fact, I thought about it a lot. Long and hard. At first I thought, well, I’d be smarter about saving money. Then I thought, well, I’d eat less bread, or I’d never put another french fry in my mouth, or I’d be gluten free or 100% organic.

And almost immediately I rejected those thoughts. Because I don’t think this is an exercise of what we’d do over, if we had the chance. Where we think we’d gone wrong, until now. Okay, okay, if you’re going to be literal, I suppose if one eats food that’s bad for us, and we don’t exercise, and never go to the doctor and it results in our being unhealthy and we end up dying prematurely … one could say we are responsible for our unhealthy state and ultimately, our deaths. And yes, we would be held accountable. I suppose.

Not going there, though.

Besides, my potion, the one I’d be drinking, obviously prevents illness and old age. Think about it. How else could we live forever?

So let’s assume the odd burger with a side of onion rings won’t matter.

Back to the drawing board. Back to changes, living differently and accountability.

Hmmmm …

Let me see. Being accountable for my actions is nothing new, now that I think about it. I’ve always believed I’m accountable for whatever I say and do. And it never stopped me from saying and doing anything. So does that mean I wouldn’t make any changes?

Hmmmm …

See what I mean? This isn’t easy to figure out, is it?

Would I live differently? Do I have to live differently? Am I a bad person now? Do I have to make improvements?

What would I do differently?

Hmmmm …

Where I’m netting out is, I think I’d do more of the same. Whereas now I only have time to volunteer once a week, I’d do more. And I’d get involved in more causes. I could become an advocate for the planet. For the poor. For the hungry. For the abused. For the oppressed. For the sick. For the elderly. For the voiceless. For animals, both domestic and wild. For elephants who are slaughtered for their ivory. For household pets who are abandoned for no reason. Whatever’s important to me.

I’d do more for my friends and my family. I’d write more. Walk more. Read more. I’d be able to. I’d have so much more time on my hands.

Anything else?

For one, I’d always pay my credit cards off in full. When you consider how much interest would be accumulated over a million or trillion or gazillion years, it’s mind-blowing. Billions of dollars, I imagine. Who could afford that? Not me, that’s for sure.

What else?

Hoarding. No more ‘saving’ stuff. I’d have to be much better about cleaning out my closets and drawers on a regular basis. Otherwise I’d end up with a landfill of my own.

That all?

Holy cow! I just realized, if I’m going to live forever, I’m going to be writing this blog every day, forever. That is one hell of a lot of ideas I’m going to have to come up with!!!! YIKES !!!!!!!

Sorry, gotta go. I’ve got a lot of brainstorming to do.

19 thoughts on “Day 328. New Rules?

    • I’m sure as hell hoping so. But just in case, that’s why I said I’d be paying my credit cards off in full every month. Maybe I should go back and figure out a better budget. 🙂

  1. There is a Twilight Zone episode, “Long Live Walter Jameson”, that provides the negative side to immortality that people don’t think about because they’re so consumed with the obvious benefit of never dying. Outliving all of your family and friends, watching everyone around you grow older while you never age, having to adapt to change for all eternity… and what do you do after you’ve literally done everything? What do you do when you outlive mankind? The planet itself?

    I’d still drink that potion in a heartbeat, though… 😉

    • It’s funny you mention this. My original plan was to talk about how it would be no fun to be immortal without your friends and how biring and exhausting it might get. But the post was so long by then, I abandoned the idea. Didn’t remember the Twilight Zone episode, mind you.

      Despite all the troubles in the world and all the nuclear threats and the environmental threats and all the ordinary citizens walking the streets with guns, I think we live in such an exciting time. Technology can make virtually anything possible now and it will only get better.

      So yeah, I’d like to stick around too. I’m sure there’ll be all kinds of stuff to do to keep me busy. 🙂

    • Yes it was. And I don’t know about your part of the world but it is THE perfect daydreaming day here. Warm but not hot, no humidity, a light breeze and not a cloud in the sky. All I’m missing is a hammock 🙂

Leave a Reply

