Day 348. Who Knew?

Do you think there’s a difference between being nosy and being curious? I do. But then, maybe it’s because I’m curious. I agree there’s a fine line between them. nosyBut I don’t pry. I don’t stick my nose into other people’s business. At least I don’t think I do. I’m not malicious.

I just love trying to figure out what makes people tick. What they’re thinking at certain times. How they’re going to react to particular situations. Which is why yesterday’s WordPress Daily Prompt piqued my interest: “If you could be a fly on the wall anywhere and at any time in history, where and when would you choose?”

Ha! I can think of hundreds of times. Maybe more. Enough to keep me in another year’s worth of blog posts, for sure. (Now there’s a thought) …

In the meantime, though, I’ve got two. They’ve come to mind because of all this craziness, the frenzy over the impending royal birth. I must admit I can’t believe the number of photographers and journalists, from all over the world, who’ve been camped outside the hospital, waiting to get that all-important first photo.

All the conjecturing. The speculation. All the wagering. The endless reporting of nothing. Insanity.

But nonetheless, it’s put the Royals into the forefront of my mind for the moment.

So I’d like to be a fly on the wall in jolly, old England.

No, not now.

First, back to the day Albert Frederick Arthur George was told he’d have to become King (George VI) because his brother, Edward, was going to abdicate so he could marry his lover, Wallis Simpson. He was divorced. She was divorced. It was a SCANDAL. A hot mess.

And again when King VI died and his relatively newly-married, 25 year old daughter, who was next in line, became Queen. Although truth be told, when Elizabeth found out her father had died she wasn’t in the UK. She was at Sagana Lodge, in Kenya.

Despite the fact it’s their ‘duty’, despite the fact they know what their responsibilities are, and will be, from the time they’re wee babies, despite all the jewels and ermine robes and butlers and nannies and ladies in waiting and hot and cold running servants and flags and yachts and private planes and fairytale coaches and Jaguars and Rolls Royces and designer duds and castles and palaces and polo ponies and puppies and handsome ‘salaries’, I wonder how thrilled they really are.

For everything they gain, they give up a helluva lot. So I wonder.

Aside from what we saw in The King’s Speech, what really happened? How did George really react? Did he stamp his feet and have a temper tantrum? Did he stutter and stammer and beg his horny brother to come to his senses? Did he beat himself on the chest, shouting “Why me? For God sake, why me? What did I ever do to deserve this? Eddy, I hope you rot in hell!”

In the privacy of his own home, away from prying eyes, long before the paparazzi and the likes of Edward Snowden and Julian Assange, what did the current Queen Elizabeth’s father do? And say? And what about his wife, the Queen Mother. What did she mutter to herself, under her breath?

“Oh shit! How the hell can he be King with that stammer?” Did she tear a strip off Edward’s ass?

Let’s not forget the kids, either. Little Elizabeth and Margaret. Were they sticking pins into dolls that looked like the American socialite their uncle had the hots for? After all, if it hadn’t been for her, they wouldn’t now have to be sharing their father with the world. Watch him be humiliated as he tried to get through all the public speaking he’d have to do.

If I’d been a fly on the wall I’d know.

Same goes for the current reigning Monarch’s reaction. After getting over the initial grief at losing her father did she let loose with a string of naughty words? Did she pout? Curl up her lip in disgust? Suck air through her teeth? Cry? Have a meltdown? Wonder how the hell she’d ever be able to stand the weight of that huge crown on her head?

What do you think her hubby was thinking? Prince Philip.

Was he dancing a jig, singing “I’m moving into Buckingham Palace … yippee !” Or did he groan and complain? And whine. Was he saying to himself, “Oh, great. Now I’ll probably have to make an appointment to have sex with my wife.”

Or do you think everyone just had a stiff upper lip?

If I’d been a fly on the wall I’d know. As you would. Because you know how much I love to share.

6 thoughts on “Day 348. Who Knew?

Leave a Reply

