Day 349. Ahhhhh … Lovely!

The last time I attempted this was almost five months ago.  It was March 30, Day 236 of this blog.  I’d read a Weekly Photo Challenge (describe a day in your life) lemonadethat intrigued me.  Except I didn’t use photographs.  I tried to create my pictures with words.  It was great fun to do; and it turned out pretty well.

And the minute I saw this past Friday’s Weekly Photo Challenge I knew I wanted to try it again.  This time the subject is “fresh”.  “The definition for fresh has a bit of a fork in it — it’s a state (new, recent, previously unknown) and it’s a taste or sensation (cool, sweet, invigorating, refreshing) … Which description will you go with?  Show us what you got!”

How could I resist?  A chance to see if I can make you literally ‘taste’ what I’m describing.  To feel it cooling the inside of your mouth.  To feel refreshed and quenched.  And to do it with words.

What better time, as well?  Like so many other cities in North America, and even Europe, we’ve been suffering through record-breaking heat waves.  Temperatures have soared where they’ve never soared before, climbing all the way up into the mid and high 30s (celsius).  Even worse, with the addition of humidity.  Up into the 40s.  Day after day after day.

Unheard of.

Needless to say, we’re all desperate to cool off.  To keep properly hydrated.

I have become addicted to frozen pink lemonade bars.  In truth, I discovered them a few years ago, at Whole Foods.  They’re organic and only 50 calories each.  Which, in the grand scheme of things, is not a huge indulgence  for a glorious taste sensation, is it?  Not when you compare it to a brownie.  Or even a scoop or two of your favourite ice cream.

But now that it’s so hot … well … I’ve been buying two and three boxes at a time.  I could eat them for breakfast, lunch and supper.  Hold on, don’t call the nutrition police just yet.  I said I could.  I didn’t say I am.  Not that I wouldn’t mind.  Just wait until you taste one.  You’ll agree with me.

First of all, do you like lemonade?  I love it.  It has to be ICE cold.  But it can’t be too sweet.  I’m in it for the tartness.  I want my lips to pucker a bit.  I want my tongue to tingle.  I want my saliva glands to kick in.  I want the inside of my mouth to feel alive.  Mmmmmm … I can taste it already.

Don’t get me wrong.  I don’t want it to be so sour my whole face becomes contorted.  And I end up with a major case of heartburn.  But too much sugar just kills it, as far as I’m concerned.  And it makes you too thirsty, anyway.

So back to these frozen pink lemonade fruit bars I love.

Obviously they’re ice cold.  They’re frozen.  Perfect.  But they start to melt the instant they hit the inside of your mouth.  Especially in this heat.  And as they melt, you’re bombarded with sensations.  You feel the cold (duh!)  And instantly your body temperature starts to come down.  You can smell the lemon.  And you can taste it.  Oh, can you taste it.  Just a hint of sweetness.  And lots of cool, refreshing, yummy, just-sour-enough citrus.  Just exploding in your mouth.

Cooling you off instantly.  You can’t keep quiet.  It’s impossible.  You must sigh.  You might even moan a little.  You can’t help yourself.  The feeling, as each glorious mouthful of icy goodness trickles down your throat, cooling as it goes, refreshing as it goes, invigorating as it goes … OMG!!!  It’s indescribable.

You want to scream out loud, the pleasure is so intense.

You want to stop total strangers on the street and tell them they MUST try one.  And you want to stand there, refusing to move until they do, so you can see their reaction.  See the look of joy on their sweat-covered faces.  See them close their eyes, in ecstasy.  Watch them tip their heads back, ever so slightly, as they fall into an almost dream-like state.  A trance.

Even looking at them is pleasurable.  The bars, not the people.  They’re the palest of pink.  Translucent in parts.  So pretty.  Can you actually say a popsicle is pretty?  Well I am.  These are pretty.  It’s the colour, of course.  It’s soft.  And clear.  They look just like a breath of fresh air.  Like a lovely, soft breeze that’s about to wash over you.  And you just can’t wait to get one in your mouth.

Don’t know about you, but I’m starting to feel lovely, little drops of icy cold, freshly-squeezed, lemon dancing on my tongue.  Gotta go …

20 thoughts on “Day 349. Ahhhhh … Lovely!

  1. Sounds like quite an experience. Next time I’m at the yuppie-hippie store, I’m grabbing a box. Too bad this wasn’t yesterday’s post! Maybe they should hire you to do an ad…or a tv commercial.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh (Wheat) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. I bought one of those new funky Popsicle makers about a month ago and it has been sitting in the freezer – untested – since then…am heading out now to buy me some pink lemonade thanks to your post!

  4. Pingback: Photo Project: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 29, 'Fresh']. | 3rdculturechildren

  5. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: Fresh | blogagaini

Leave a Reply

