Day 355. Who’s Yours?

Lucy and Ethel.  Thelma and Louise.  Mary and Rhoda.  Carrie and Charlotte and Miranda and Samantha.  lucy and ethelThere’s a theme going on here.  Have you figured it out yet?

They’re best friends.

Fictional best friends, to be sure.  But best friends, none the less.  You know what I’m talking about, don’t you?  The kind of friends who are there for you, no matter what.  Through thick and thin.  In good times and in bad.  Friends you can always count on.  Friend’s you’d go to hell and back for.  Friends who know all your secrets.  And you, theirs.

Which was the subject of this past Thursday’s WordPress Daily Prompt:

Finish this sentence:  “My closest friend is …”

I’ve known mine for 43 years.  Can you imagine?  Hate to say this, but it’s probably longer than some of you have been on this earth.  Or longer than you’ve been married to your spouse.

And after all these years, there’s hardly anything we haven’t been through with each other.  Or know about each other.  There’s no hiding.

Close as we are, though, unlike Thelma and Louise, we’ve never been on shooting sprees together.  Our only crimes have been occasionally falling in love with the wrong men.  I suppose we have had our fair share of Lucy and Ethel type hijinks, although nothing as hysterically funny (or silly) as the episode where they were working on an assembly line, at a chocolate factory.  They were boxing chocolates.  Or that’s what they were supposed to be doing.

Marilyn and I are probably more like Rhoda and Mary (Mary Tyler Moore Show), or the gals on Sex and The City.   Single girls who met and bonded over failed relationships and career ambitions and family issues and shoe shopping and all manner of questions needing answers.  The closer you get, the more you share, until no subject is taboo.  From yeast infections to orgasms.  From philandering boyfriends to walking down the aisle.  From childbirth to divorce.  From job interviews to glass ceilings.  From apartment hunting to bikini waxing to stock tips to health issues.  From pain and sorrow to indescribable joy.  Ups, downs.  Highs, lows.  Winning, losing.  Successes, failures.  Decision and indecision.

You go on trips together, meet for coffee, have drinks, go clubbing and get together for countless brunches, lunches and dinners.  Like with all relationships you have your disagreements.  But it always works out in the end.

There are thousands of quotes about friendship.  I know because I just spent almost two hours reading through them.  Or at least a lot of them.  And, for the most part, they echo my sentiments.  But after all is said and done, after all the shared moments and experiences … after all the conversations and discussions and soul-searching and advice … after all the options are laid out on the table and picked apart … after all the fun and games and laughter and tears, this one, by Gloria Naylor seems to sum up my relationship with my closest friend:

“Sometimes being a friend means mastering the art of timing.  There is a time for silence.  A time to let go and allow people to hurl themselves into their own destiny.  And a time to prepare to pick up the pieces when it’s all over.”

8 thoughts on “Day 355. Who’s Yours?

  1. I have two. I know, I’m greedy, but we became a group of 3 in high school and still visit each other regularly despite living in different areas of the country (or in a different country, one recently just moved back to England from Germany). I could never pick between them!

  2. You are soooo lucky. I have/had two besties. One is very bi-polar which is under control with medication but the meds have given her huge medical problems. I rarely see her. The other one is an even sadder story. We had the relationship that you describe for a very long time. Then we “friended” a third woman who did all kinds of things to destroy our relationship. I didn’t see it in real time until after it was too late. Then my dear friend moved cross country and that was the end of everything. Maybe the moral here is that it can be dangerous to be my friend! (I do have a great friend now but it’s only been about 15 years. That’s almost a new relationship. We talk about all those topics except maybe bikini waxing. We’re both past that stage.)

    • I don’t think the length of time you’ve been friends matters. Yes, mine has been a long, long time, but you can become very close very quickly. You don’t experience as much of life together, but I’m sure you’ve experienced a hell of a lot in 15 years. Too bad about the others. Maybe it’s time to google the friend who moved away and at least get sone closure, if nothing else. Make peace with it.

  3. I’ve a couple of girlfriends that I’ve known since high school (over 20 years now). We aren’t as close as we used to be, having drifted apart over the years. But are back in touch now in the ‘Land of FaceBook’. We don’t share/talk about everything like we used to, being busy with our respective lives, but do still have the occasional “girl time” online [as we each live in a different part of the country].

    Don’t really have a close friend I dish with nowadays. I’ve always been something of an introvert, and find it difficult to connect with people {including the Hubby some days}. I get along with animals far better as a general rule; my big cat, Sam, never objects to hugs and lap time with his ‘mommy’.

    • Nothing wrong with cat hugs. I love cuddles with my cats. And from the purring I hear, they feel the same way 🙂

Leave a Reply

