Who am I?

I love brands. I should. I’ve spent most of my adult life creating them, nurturing them, massaging them, positioning them and selling them. That’s what we do in advertising. individualityIt’s been my life’s work; and passion.

Brands are emotional. They’re what consumers connect to. So when people like me do our jobs properly, we’re putting a face and a personality on to the products and services companies produce and market. The strongest brands are authentic. Folks believe them. And they believe IN them. They (the brands) stand for something. Something we want and need and value.

So you’ll understand why I was intrigued by yesterday’s WordPress Daily Prompt.

“Think of your blog as a mirror: What does it reveal? Consider your blog name, theme choice, design, bio, posts … what does every element tell you about yourself?

Well, to me, they’re talking about a brand.

Blogs aside, I think we’re all brands. All of us, no matter what we do for a living. The way we conduct ourselves speaks to our personal brand. How we dress, how our homes our furnished, our interests, our personalities, our principles … it all contributes to the ‘persona’ we present to the world; and, in turn, how

others see us.

Although I used a WordPress template, I did spend hours and hours going through them. Because I knew it had to reflect ME. MY brand.

In the end I chose “Forever”. I really liked its simplicity, all the white space, the breathing room. It’s contemporary, yet classic enough to last. It won’t ‘date’. Go out of style, in other words. It’s not ‘trendy’. It’s clean. Uncomplicated. Yet it’s inviting, at least to me. It’s what I hope I am. It’s the impression I hope people take away, when they meet me. And when they work with me.

That I’m ‘current’. Very important in my business. I’ve been in advertising for a very long time. It’s essential prospective clients and, even current clients, believe I’m knowledgeable about all the new trends and technology in our business. The last thing I want is for them to assume I’m just a relic from the past, better left for the archaeologists to dig up in a thousand years or so ago.

Of course it’s not just about how this blog looks, that will establish my credibility. It is also dependant on my actions. But seeing as how this story IS just about appearances, I won’t go into that right now.

Everything I’ve ever learned about successful advertising centres on the KISS principle. Keep It Simple Stupid. Don’t force consumers to think. Tell them what you want them to know. What they need to know, in order to make a decision.

My choice of a name for this blog reflects that. For the first year I wanted people to know, right off the bat, they could expect to find a post from me, every day for a year. I wanted them to put me into their calendars, every day. Three Hundred Sixty-Five accomplished that in spades. And what the name left to the imagination, the tagline provided: “Your daily dose of my disparate thoughts.”

Once they read both they knew I’d be nattering on about a lot of different topics, every day for a year. Nothing to think about there.

Now the year’s up. I want everyone to know I’m still here. I didn’t want you all to have to search for a new blog. Yet, leaving the original title made no sense once I’d reached my goal of a year. In fact it would have been confusing. I’ll bet a lot of people would have stopped coming here, assuming I was done and gone. So a slight change to 365 And Counting was, to me, the perfect solution.

Still connected to the original. But letting you all know it’s a new day. A new year. I’m continuing where I left off. And just to make sure, the new tagline offers a promise: “There’s plenty more when the first year came from.” Don’t worry, I’m not about to run out of ideas any time soon, is the message.

No thinking required. You know I’m continuing with this blog. Period.

What does my brand say about me so far? I’m comfortable in the 21st century. I’m going to make it easy for you to read my blog, both visually and with what I say, and how. I’m about ‘ideas’. I try to choose photos that are intriguing and creative. Some succeed more than others. I am using stock images, after all. But I do want y’all to know I spend time choosing them. The journals at the top? I’m a writer. We keep notes.

Not one to leave anything to chance, I use pages to introduce myself, the idea behind the blog, and to also introduce you to my business blog, where the content is very different.

Because I know my peers, associates, clients and prospective clients will, very likely, read this blog as well as my business blog, I strive for versatility. I want them to know I can write on just about every subject; and in every tone of voice, from funny to solemn to cheeky to controversial to you name it, I can write that way. I want them to know I can work to tight deadlines and turn work around quickly, which is obvious if I’m been blogging every single day, without fail.

Have I succeeded? You tell me. And while you’re at it, what does your blog say about you?

18 thoughts on “Who am I?

  1. Right now my blog says: writer is too busy doing other stuff to blog. LOL! I hope my blog says that I am curious, fearless, enthusiastic, positive, fun, and probably covered with dog hair.

  2. To me, the white and the simplicity of the blog theme say you are a direct person, organized in the way you think, work and present your ideas, you are centered in making sure your voice reads clear…and it does! What my blog says about me? hhmmm, becasue of this prompt I stared at my blog for a while, mirror, mirror on my blog… and I am not so keen on what it reflects about me… maybe I could address those issues starting with my blog appearance :/ that’ll take a while… great DP response Fransi, read you soon, Alexandra

  3. Fransi, I know what you mean, but I’m still a little horrified. You’re a brand. Really? When you were 5 years old, did you want to be Doritos or Hostess? Branding is something we use, but it’s certainly nothing to aspire to. Maybe it’s a tool, but it’s not one I can really cosy up to.

    I didn’t fantasize about growing up to be a brand. I wanted to write something, I wanted to build something. I wanted to grow up to be someone. Not a brand.

    My intent is not to be overly harsh, but we all too easily accept these business-defined tropes of who we are or what we do. I am a brand, to a certain extent. I’ve been a brand. But I take no joy from it. Do you?

    I’m a husband, a writer, a guitar builder, a neighbour, a brother and any number of other things. A “brand” is way down at the bottom of the list.

    Okay , rant over 🙂

    Love

    Steve

    • Oh, come on now, Steve. No I did not want to grow up and be brand when I was 5 years old. That is not what I said and you bloody well know it. Relax. Go hug your wife and play your guitar. Or maybe you should hug your guitar and play your wife.

  4. hahah (I’m laughing at the “play your wife” line). Sure you’ve succeeded at making your blog a brand-, you know you have! But the only brand I see you as is a “Fransi Weinstein”- the one and ONLY.

    I do think of myself as an anti-brand, although I guess that’s a brand in and of itself haha

    • 🙂 Thanks, Pete. Each one of us is a “one and only”. Yeah I agree, you are sort of an anti-brand 🙂 and that iIS your brand. No escaping it I guess. :). As for Steve, his brand is definitely grumpy and too tightly strung. Wonder if the guitars he makes have the same problem 🙂

  5. What I love about your blog and brand is your voice. It comes through loud and clear in every post. Keeps me coming back for more, too.

  6. “Gave the sawdust a shake look what fell out” a “brand” of writing that thankfully appeals to many followers than I ever thought I’d get starting out on this road thanks in part must go to “Brand Fransi Weinstein” who influenced many others.
    Chris.

Leave a Reply

