Why’d I stop?

I have a confession to make.  unplugged

The Daily Posts have been piling up in my inbox.  It’s also been a couple of weeks since my last blog post so I decided to read through them.  This one certainly struck a chord:  “Sometimes, we all need a break from these little glowing boxes.  How do you know when it’s time to unplug?  What do you do to make it happen?”

Well …

As most of you know, I’ve been blogging every day for 365 days.  My goal was one year.  I reached it on August 6; and since then my blogging has been very sporadic.  Unintentionally.

“What???”, you’re probably saying to yourselves.  “How can you stop blogging unintentionally?”

Fair point.

Guess the point I’m trying to make is, I didn’t know I needed a break.  I was on such a roll.  Ideas kept popping into my head.  A day never went by when I couldn’t wait to write my next post.  The words just poured out of me.  My fingers flew over the keyboard.  I was pumped, energized, at the ready.  Always.  And then I sat down at my computer to write THE blog.  The last of 365.

It wasn’t going to be the end, though.  My plan all along was to continue.  Are you kidding?  No way I could give it up.  I was addicted.  Pure and simple.  Just like an exercise junkie, I needed more and more and more and more.  I even talked about it in some of the blogs leading up to the big day.

So there I was, fingers flexed.  I ‘heard’ myself write I’d be taking a few days off to clear my head, that I’d be back, but not everyday.

Nobody was more surprised than I was.  I guess I needed a bit of a break, after all.  Coulda fooled me.  So I did NOTHING to make it happen.  It just sorta did.

BUT.  Here’s what I hadn’t counted on:

Inertia.

Yep.  I’ve gotten out of the habit now.  My daily routine is no longer my daily routine.  And I’ve gotten sluggish.  Out of shape, if you will.

Bad, bad, bad.

When I started 365 I made a public commitment.  I said I was going to blog every day for a year.  And I showed up here, dutifully, every morning at the same time.  When I said I was taking a break and would be back I made no such commitment.  Although it was my intention to write at least once a week I didn’t commit to it.  To myself or publicly.

The kiss of death.  At least for me.

Ergo, my blog has not been uppermost on my mind.  I haven’t been waking up every morning with a mission.  For that matter, I haven’t been going to sleep every night with pages of notes and ideas for the next morning.  And look what’s happened.

Yeah.

Really, I shouldn’t be surprised, should I?  It happens to bloggers all the time.  In fact, I constantly tell my clients, if they’re not prepared to stick with it, on a regular basis, to commit to it, they shouldn’t bother starting a blog.  Time for me to practice what I preach.

Time for another commitment.  I do have some other priorities right now, so I can’t commit to every day.  Not right now.  But I can — and am — committing to writing a new blog post every week.  I am committing to PUBLISHING a new blog post every Tuesday — probably around midday, maybe a bit later, maybe a bit earlier.  What I can promise is, you’ll see me here every Tuesday.  And more often if and when I can.

Hopefully I’ll see you here as well.

47 thoughts on “Why’d I stop?

  1. I have four weekly features I have committed to posting on my blog. Since I started each one, I have never missed a single week with any of them, and I think it’s that commitment I made with each one when I started them that has caused my perfect attendance those four days. Figuring that was enough guaranteed posts each week, I have never made that commitment with any other regular series I’ve devised, and as a result they are all very infrequent. Commitment can be a huge motivator if we are the kind of person who believes in delivering what we promised, when we promised it. And once free from that informal contract, well, you’ve seen what can happen. I’m glad to see you will be posting again, even if just once a week. I’ve missed your insights…

    • Thanks so much. I hope to get back to everyday, but for now at least I am COMMITTING to once a week. Your support and encouragement is really appreciated.

  2. Hi Fransi! I’m looking forward to reading your Tuesday posts. I think I’ve reached my “I need a break” point with my blog, too. It just happens. I’m still trying to figure out what needs to change to make it work for me again.

    • Sometimes I think we just need to give ourselves a break, even if we’re not aware of it. I only became aware of it, when I wrote that last post. Blogging is work and we all have so many other things on our plate — especially women like you with husbands and kids and careers and households to run. I honestly don’t know how you manage it all.

  3. Great plan! I like blogs that post on a regular schedule, whether it is often or not. I am still trying to stick to mine but it isn’t easy. As my aim is Wednesday and the weekend it’s often Wednesday and Sunday night… I need to change it to Wednesday and Saturday or Sunday and then be more committed. See you next Tuesday!

      • Revise and resubmit from an agent I would love to work with, so I’ve stopped querying for the present and am supposed to be working on revisions. I’ve been really stuck though, unable to work up my previous energy for balancing work/family/writing. I know what I have to do, and it’s a lot of work, and it’s not really “creative,” so it’s hard to sit down and make myself do it. But whether or not this agent takes on the book, it will be a much better book for this revision, when I finish it.

      • That is fabulous! Good for you. Yes, this is the important part — the refining and crafting. Enjoy it. It’s like watching a beautiful flower start to open.

  4. You will definitely see me here. I’ve been missing a regular slice of life! And I totally empathise. I mentally tried to commit to two blogs a month – and still failed. When I know it’s been a while I try to think of all the interesting stuff I see around me everyday and what I can write about, but kneading into a cohesive, readable and interesting post is less than easy.

    • I really wasn’t finding it hard. But the minute I took that break it was difficult to get motivated again. But I am back :). Thanks for commenting. Look forward to ‘seeing’ you here.

  5. So great to see you back posting…I have missed you! And even once a week is better than not at all :). Totally understand the break – I find that I go in spurts of inspiration and then just need to step back for a while. Welcome back and looking forward to next Tuesday’s post.

  6. I’m new to WordPress, and so I’m a little scared to commit to time frame. I’m not sure what I can handle or what to write about or if anyone will like my writing anyway. Now I can see how a commitment will drive activity, and if I don’t commit, I may not get any writing done at all! So, I will follow your lead and commit to one post a week.

    So far I have only posted my poetry, but I think I might like to contemplate other miscellaneous… ramblings, musings and maybe even some occasional humor. Thanks so much for the inspiration!

  7. I’ve missed reading your blog with my post-dog walk coffees. It’s a great start for me (wakes up my brain and blows off the cobwebs) so selfishly I’d like you to get back to it, but I’ll take your posts as I get them. They are still lovely and inspiring. And as I’ve said publicly and privately, I know what it’s like when life (ok, work) gets in the way of everything else.

  8. You did wonderfully! And I was glad to be along. The dynamic of a writing life (and real life) has to change and your relationship with it does too. It’s a growth thing. You’re no longer the rookie you were 365 plus days ago while building up your very respectable body of work, and aren’t supposed to be doing it the way you did for that stretch. And that’s all good. Ask Tolstoy! 🙂

  9. Wow! I can’t believe this is the subject matter of the first blog post I’ve read in almost 2 months! Yup, got you beat on this one, Fransi. My blog has taken a back seat to other commitments I’ve made and I haven’t posted in over 2 months, until today. I had committed to do a book review and I finally go to it. Honestly though, while I admire your tenacity and reaffirming your commitment to be more consistent about posting at least once a week, I kinda think you are being way too critical of yourself. For some of us, things come up in life that cause us to pause and redirect our focus on that thing or things. And, given that time and space is now filled with that something else, the routine, in this case our blogs, take a back seat. While I know that many talented bloggers are deeply rooted in their discipline to post regularly, I don’t personally believe it’s a “have to” or else. You have one of the best blogs I’ve come across and whether you post every day, week, month or every quarter, it doesn’t take away from the quality of your writing style and the way you engage so many other bloggers…like me. I will admit, it’s good to be back…even if it’s always going to be sporadic in my case! 🙂

    • Thank you so much. I have missed your blog, by the way. You know, it’s not a do-or-die thing with me. I enjoy blogging and I really love the interaction with fellow bloggers and followers. And as someone who writes websites and blogs on behalf of clients I really do have to practice what I preach. I look forward to your sporadic posts and your always interesting, thought-provoking and thoughtful comments on mine. See you soon 🙂

      • Thanks so much for the kind words! I certainly can understand where you’re coming from. I’ve been busy writing business policies and procedures and doing a little creative work for small business promotions. I really have missed the time away from writing for my blog and I really miss keeping up-to-date on your posts and those of some other blogs that I follow. I’ll still be around and look forward to having more time to read and comment. See you soon.

  10. I’m so glad, Fransi! I so enjoy your posts, such a strong voice! I’ve also committed to Monday posts. Keeps me disciplined, and I’ve found the relaxed environment of the weekend gives me time to come up with ideas and draft. Funny enough, I’m planning a similar-type post for next Monday, comparing exercise habits with writing habits.

    • Thank you. Yes, it is very much like exercise habits. I make that comparison myself all the time. I am looking forward to reading your post:)

Leave a Reply

