Never put off ’til tomorrow …

Don’t get excited. This is not a post about sadists or sex. Or Fifty Shades of Grey. We are so over that, aren’t we?? crackingthewhip

Just saying …

Anyway. Talk about timing. If ever there was an absolutely perfect time for me to be responding to a WordPress Daily Prompt, it’s today: “Tell us your tried and true techniques for focusing when that deadline looms and you need to get work done. In other words, how do you avoid wasted days and wasted nights?”

Simple. I’ve got a one-word answer for you:

DISCIPLINE.

No procrastinating.

You’ve gotta crack that whip — on yourself.

Case in point: If you’re a regular reader here, you know I was off last week. I got a new project, from a new client. It’s a pretty big job, with three different parts

to it — editing/writing a 30-40-page Guide, writing a website, writing a multi-page booklet. The first phase was the Guide. A lot of work with an extremely tight deadline. It has to be ready for a huge conference on April 27.

If that wasn’t challenging enough, the subject matter, while of real interest to me, is the result of a large research study. Lots of clinical information, charts, graphs, tables and stats. A lot to think about and, concentrate on; and understand and absorb.

My favourite kind of assignment.

But, once my work on it was done, it had to go to a designer who, needless to say, has an awful lot of work to do in a very short time frame. So there was definitely no time for me to dick around.

I had to commit myself to it. No time for blogging. No time for much else, to be completely honest.

In the end I wrote for 7 straight days, 2 weekends included — from about 8 in the morning to no later than 9 in the evening. I had the energy to keep going but I knew, from experience, I’d never get to sleep. When I write late at night I’m still writing, in my head, even though I’m laying in bed. The brain can’t shut off. And I knew I had to get some rest, otherwise I’d never get through it.

So I also had to be disciplined about shutting down my computer.

Giving up the weekends wasn’t easy because finally, after a brutally long, brutally cold winter, after being dumped with snowfall after snowfall, it seemed like Spring was here. At last. Sunny skies. Mild temperatures. People out everywhere. Laughing and having fun.

And there I was, stuck indoors, having to work madly away.

DISCIPLINE.

No procrastinating.

Yes, indeed, I cracked that whip!!!

Frankly there’s no other way around it. I’ve been doing this for a long, long, long time. So long, I don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t have a deadline. And the only way to do it, is to do it. Plain and simple. Just do it (thank you Nike).

After all, we’re grown ups here, aren’t we? If you’ve got a better way I’m all ears. But I doubt it …

 

14 thoughts on “Never put off ’til tomorrow …

  1. “Just do it” is the most brilliant ad campaign, because it can be applied to so many scenarios in life. When you’re under the gun, what choice do you have? It’s the way I approach exercise. Every day. No excuses. Just get your ass out there and do it.

    • Exactly! I love that campaign too. It is brilliant and empowering and positive and it’s about every aspect of our lives.

  2. I wish I was as disciplined as you! You are an inspiration! But I do so know what you mean about still writing in your head in the bed. Which is why I keep paper and pen next to me on the nite stand πŸ™‚

    • Lol. Honestly I’m so vitamin D deprived, if I’d stuck my nose outside for even a minute I would never have come back. I’d still be out there. Hopefully spring’ll stick around a while — or else I will be mightily pissed πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

