A question for Margaret Wente …

Most of you won’t know who Margaret Wente is (because you live all over the world), so I’ll tell you.  She’s an OpEd columnist for the Toronto Globe and Mail.  There was a time I really enjoyed her sticktongueoutwork; and actually looked forward to reading each and every one of her columns.

That time has come and gone.

Now, for the most part, I find her way too full of herself, way too arrogant, way too pompous and, very often, condescending.  And kinda irrelevant, too, now that I think about it.  She no longer represents my views.

Other than that I think she’s fab.

Last week she wrote a column on climate change.  Well, preached, actually.  And, in the end, she decided we’re way too hysterical about global warming — the planet will survive and so will we.  Well, she’s certainly entitled to her opinion, there’s no arguing with that.  And she may even turn out to be right.  But until then …

What might her explanation be for the fact that, in Toronto today, it is currently -1 celsius (feels like -5 with the windchill) and it’s snowing?  On April 15.  And yesterday it was 21 celsius. I went out wearing a T-shirt, without a jacket.  I didn’t need socks, either.  Convertible tops were down, terrace cafes and restaurants were doing a booming business and it felt almost like summer.

Yo, Margaret.  Are you out there somewhere?  Can you see my post?  Got an answer for me?  While you’re at it, here’s another one for you.  Why do you think we’re having so many catastrophic and extreme weather events, virtually everywhere in the world?  All the time.  The tsunamis, earthquakes, tornados, hurricanes, ice storms, massive snow storms, major floods, etc.  I’m older than I care to think, and I can swear this never happened when I was a kid.  Or a teenager.  Or in my twenties or thirties or even forties.  I still, thankfully, have all my faculties so I don’t think it’s a matter of memory loss.

So what gives?

Surely you know.  I mean if you’re going to poo-poo environmental activists and scientists, photographs of melting glaciers and the like, you must know something the rest of us don’t.  And I, for one, would love to know what it is.  And before you climb up on your high horse and start quoting your credible sources, let me just say there are equally credible sources for the opposing side.

Do I know who’s right and who’s wrong?  No, I don’t.  But I have to believe the gases produced from our vehicles, power plants, deforestation and other sources are not doing the planet, or us, any favours.  I also certainly wouldn’t dismiss the whole notion of climate change and call it drivel.  Which is, essentially, what Margaret Wente did last Thursday.

I’m hoping there’s an after-life.  Because one day we’ll know for sure.  Probably after I’m dead and gone.  Probably after Margaret Wente’s dead and gone, too.  Although hopefully not after the planet is dead and gone.  And I can’t speak for her, but I’d like to know who was right.  One of us will get a chance to say “I told you so”.  And blow the other one a raspberry.

 

12 thoughts on “A question for Margaret Wente …

  1. While I believe there is definitely a climate change occurring, in the big picture sense, whether it is or is not pollution that is a major cause of climate change can be argued ad nauseam. What we do know for a fact is that we are polluting the planet and until each of us takes responsibility and begins to make some changes in our own habits we will continue on a downward spiral. Even making small changes can make a big difference. I no longer buy water in a bottle for instance. I now recycle everything that my city allows but they need to expand what they accept because it excludes certain recyclables. I won’t bore you with the rest, but I really believe small steps can make a huge difference.

  2. Honestly, I will never understand the nay-sayers’ positions on climate change. Like you, I don’t know who’s right or wrong, but there is so much scientific research and documented evidence (not to mention the anecdotal) that it’s happening right before our eyes. This is more than a geological hiccup. Way more.

    • Well you know I agree with you. And I don’t get it either. I guess it’s easier to knock it, then accept it. I also think a lot of the naysayers figure they’ll be dead and it will be somebody else’s problem. Yeah … Like their kids and grand kids.

  3. There is nothing surer than that the planet will change form and temperature as it has done for millions or billions of years, whether in our short lifetimes, it changes significantly depends where we live, for some the devastation has happened already, for others it is still to come and then for the fortunate they’ll spent their 80 to 100 years without a significant natural disaster.

    If humanity is contributing to a negative effect, which I am sure it is, we all must do what we can as individuals to minimize our negative impact on all that is around us. Yes, the planet may survive our abuses, but it may destroy our ability to live within it, to live in health, it is surely basic common sense to stop the blatant exploitation, born of greed, excess and arrogance.

    We need the so-called “hysterical” to keep the the “exploitative” in check, reasonable discussion, research reports and experts rarely succeed where good old fashioned activism, raises awareness and keeps the population informed.

    • Totally agree. She really has missed the point — or would just prefer to ignore it and make it another generation’s problem. It drives me nuts when those who have the mandate and the opportunity to educate and inform choose to misinform instead.

Leave a Reply

