Hanging on for dear life …

Me. The poster child for looking on the bright side. Positive thinking. Seeing the glass half full. A true believer in everything working out in the end. Me. drowningThat one. That girl. That woman.

Not so much at the moment, though. I’ve got to admit I’m struggling. So much bad news. Everywhere you turn. It’s absolutely unavoidable. We are just in one helluva mess. The whole world. All of us.

So much hatred. So much prejudice. So much anger. So much violence. So much bloodshed. So much death. So much destruction. So much rubble. So much despair. So much unrest. So much imbalance. So much poverty. So much hunger. So much misery. So much suffering. So much fear. So much grief. So many tears. So many scars. So much injustice.

So little hope.

So little respect. For each other. For life. For human rights. For freedom. Maybe even for ourselves.

Such a crisis.

There has to be something we can do. Why aren’t we?

Why aren’t we marching on our Nations’ capitals? Why aren’t we more selectiveย about who we elect? Why don’t we demand more from them? Why don’t we hold

them accountable?

How can we see what’s going on — at home and abroad — and continue to turn the other cheek? Look the other way. Stand for it. Accept it. Say nothing. Do nothing. Ignore it. Deny it.

Tell me, where is there some good news? What’s working?

Damned if I know.

It’s overwhelming.

Who’d have ever thought, in this day and age, we’d live to see the world in this sorry state. I sure didn’t. At a time when we should have everything going for us, we’re going to hell in a hand basket. With all the great minds and all the advanced technology and all the collective wisdom and knowledge and experience, we can’t seem to get it together and put an end to any of it. Not locally. Not nationally. Not internationally.

No consensus.

We can’t agree on anything. Well, “can’t” or “won’t”? Not that it really makes a difference. We’re at odds. That’s all that matters. We’re stuck. Constrained. Paralyzed. Unable. Disabled.

By ignorance. Indifference. Arrogance. Inflexibility. Greed. Spite. Malice. Evil.

Can you bear to read a newspaper? Or watch the news on TV? I have to force myself. I just hate the fact that there doesn’t seem to be any end in sight. It just keeps getting worse and worse. Which is what’s really debilitating — that each newscast paints a darker picture than the one that came before. That each newscast talks about the failures. What didn’t work. What didn’t last. What wasn’t passed. What wasn’t approved. What won’t be accepted. What won’t change.

I know. I’m being pretty grim, for an optimist. But to be very honest with you, I’m starting to have trouble finding the joy. What about you? How are you feeling?

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Hanging on for dear life …

  1. I took a month long break from the news and surprise – I felt happier. Sometimes when you are feeling weighted down, it’s okay to give yourself a break. Depressed, pessimistic people (of whom I am often one) can’t effect positive change, so you do what you need to do to marshal your personal resources. Sometimes that means stepping away for a bit.

    • Thanks Michelle. You make a good point. It is really unusual for me to feel a situation seems hopeless. I always see the opportunities. I think I do need a break.

  2. I could’ve writtten this. I think we’re tired. Dried up. Self-absorbed. Heads in the sand. Retreating. Feeling helpless. A loss of control, etc. You get it. ๐Ÿ™‚ But some of us have a hopeful nature. We’re resilient. We have the fortitude. That can’t be denied. We’ve personally been down and come back up and know it. Even though it can be intellectualized it doesn’t help when it’s painful. But it means stand up and keep going- THAT we do.

    Thanks for sharing. Again, I’m with you. Hope springs etc.

    Blah blah blah ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, I know we are simpatico on this ๐Ÿ™‚ And I agree that we’re resilient and hopeful by nature. And absolutely, we MUSt stand up and keep going. I am definitely a fighter, as you are, I know. So let’s do a little shit-disturbing, what do you say?? ๐Ÿ™‚ Certainly wouldn’t be the first time for me ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for your thoughtful comments, as always.

  3. It would indeed be a sad world if we all threw our hands in the air and said, the sky is falling! The world is changing. That has always been a painful process. Can you imagine being alive during the dark ages? Or during the great conquests? We will get through these trying times. We just need to do our part to make the world a better place from where we are. And tune out the news. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Right now I am in Scotland watching and listening to the debates on Scotland breaking away from the United Kingdom. (Polling day is 18th September) It’s a very scary thought, Scotland going it alone. Yet there is great confidence that the Independence vote will win the day and Scotland will prosper. I don’t know so much!

    • I’m actually not talking about change. Change I can happily deal with. Unless, of course, if what’s going on in the Ukraine and the Middle East and even in Congress is the kind of change we should be expecting.

      What I do agree with is the notion that we all have a part to play in making the world a better place.

  4. I couldn’t agree more, Fransi. The world’s going to hell in a handbasket, making everything I do on a daily basis seem frivolous, trivial. I try to look for humorous moments, just go about my business, then I feel guilty for being so small and self-centered. I switched on national public radio last night while cooking dinner, hoping for one of their characteristic lighthearted stories, but it was more of the same – bad news in the U.S. and abroad, and what’s Obama going to do about it? I don’t know what the solution is. We just keep on keeping on for now, I guess.

    • I feel the same way. And now another young man beheaded for absolutely no reason. I have always believed everything happens for a reason, but I cannot make sense of any of this.

  5. Fransi, I’m certain you speak for the majority of the population around the world. The news is depressing, saddening, and without hope at the moment. It is very difficult not to be dragged down by it all and yet, somehow, we need to keep pushing for hope and doing our little bits in our own little corners of our personal worlds. Find joy in your family and friends. Spread the joy you do so frequently with your wonderful way with words. Don’t let this global black cloud that hangs over all of us kill the spirit that lives deep within you. We are fortunate to live where we do and have the personal freedom and lack of worry about bombs dropping on our homes. We do need to care about those not so fortunate (we have family in Aleppo, Syria …) and since most of us cannot bring about change in a major way, let’s keep doing our bit in small ways. I understand how you feel … and share those feelings often but don’t allow them to take control … l am so looking forward to seeing you soon! Onward, my friend!

    • Thank you Patricia; and I am very much looking forward to seeing you. And do not worry — I am not staying in bed with the covers pulled over my head every day. I am concerned and saddened by what is going on, but not defeated by any means. ONWARD!! :). I hope your family in Syria stay safe.

  6. Until I went on vacation, I was feeling the same way. Being in England for 11 days really made me feel a lot happier. There’s still a lot of anger and hatred in our world but the British tv and newspapers seemed to put the emphasis in a less jingoistic way. Everyone we met was so nice to us too. Made me feel like there’s hope for the planet.

    • That is great. I am SO happy you both had such a marvelous time. I can’t wait to hear ALL about it and see all the pix. I have to stop watching CNN. They make the bad news even worse by repeating it over and over and over and over again.

Leave a Reply

