Here come the brides (and the grooms) …

… and all their two-and-four-legged ring bearers.

I was kinda tough on the US last week.  Not trying to be mean or nasty, just expressing my feelings.  And they’re still my feelings, in case you’re wondering.  But since then the US ring bearerSupreme Court has made some really good decisions, at least in my opinion.  So I think it’s only fair I mention it.  Can’t just dish out criticism without giving praise when it’s due, can you?

To be honest I wasn’t so sure they (the judges) had it in them.  But they did and both President Obama and the American public ended up having a very good week.  About time, if you ask me.  Joy has been in short supply lately.

Gay and lesbian couples are now finally free to get married in every state in the country.  All 50 of them.  Hallelujah!  

But while I’m on the subject of marriage, how is it that polygamy is okay?  Not to mention men marrying 14 year olds.  If anything should be against the law … just saying.

Moving right along, the Supreme Court also saved Obamacare.  Bravo!!!

Oh, I know this is a really contentious issue.  I’ve got American friends who are happy with the decision, as I am, but I’ve been attacked many a time for being ‘for’ it.  I am, I’m not ashamed to admit it and I’m not backing down, either.  I do not understand how it can be bad to want everyone to have access to health care, to have access to doctors, to tests, to treatments, to screening.  To try and prevent disease in the first place, which is the most cost effective form of health care there is.  To maybe live long enough to meet their grandchildren and even their great grandchildren.  To dance at their weddings.

How is that wrong?

Before you point fingers at me for pointing fingers at the US, let me assure you I’m the first to admit our health care system in Canada needs some work, but what doesn’t?  Yes, we sometimes have to wait a pretty long time for appointments and some drugs are not available here but let me tell you, it sure beats the alternative.  And when it is truly an urgent or serious medical problem there is virtually no waiting period for anything.  I know this from personal experience with my mother, other family members, friends and also from volunteering in a hospital.

So cudos to the five judges who put people and equality first.  They are heroes.  And to quote another great and brave American, “That’s one small step for man (three women and two men in this case), and one giant leap for mankind.”

8 thoughts on “Here come the brides (and the grooms) …

  1. I felt the same way you did — what a banner week for the Supreme Court and the American people, and it’s about damn time. Having lived in Europe and experienced socialized medicine, I’ve seen both extremes. Both systems have their flaws, and I’m convinced there’s no perfect solution, especially when human beings are involved. The Affordable Care Act isn’t perfect, far from it, just like the No Child Left Behind act wasn’t the perfect “fix” for public education. But both pieces of legislation brought the examination of the problems to the front burner, and started the dialogue. Regardless of how you feel personally about the issues, access to healthcare and marriage equality should be viewed as basic civil rights, especially in a country that was founded on the principles of Freedom.

  2. Last night I had dinner with a good friend. She works for a very small firm (under 20 employees). I listened to a barrage on Obamacare. All negative. I worked in HR managing benefits. Everything she was telling me was untrue. This isn’t isolated. People blame anything bad or negative on it but it’s not a result of the legislation. Healthcare costs were increasing in the double digits before Obama was elected. As I was trying to explain how health benefits really work, she quickly lost interest and talked about her grandkids. Why try to understand the truth when there is a bandwagon to hitch to. Sigh.

    • I have similar experiences. These people don’t want to face the facts or see the good in this. It drives me nuts. You can argue with them until you are blue in the face and they won’t budge an inch. Ridiculous!!

  3. As others have said, Obamacare isn’t perfect. And it certainly isn’t affordable for me. It’s actually cheaper for me to get insurance through my employer…and I cannot afford either one.

    Personally, I would be happy with affordable vision and dental insurance. I’d certainly would use them the most. Gotten to the point that my next eyeglass ‘script will be bifocals, but in the meantime I remove my glasses when I have to read fine print or up close. If I absolutely have to go to a doctor, I visit a local clinic where you pay on a sliding scale based upon your annual income.

    • I don’t know about the US, but in Canada vision and dental insurance are the most costly for employers to offer and for self-employed people to buy on their own. We are lucky though because opthamologists and any eye surgery is covered by OHIP so we don’t pay. But employees pay nothing for health coverage offered through employers. It is all paid for by the employer. And that coverage is only for the ‘extras’ that OHIP doesn’t pay for because here every man. Woman and child gets free healthcare. The extras are private rooms in hospitals, private nurses in hospital, physiotherapy that goes beyond the time paid for under OHIP, massages done by a registered massage therapist — that sort of thing. It’s not perfect but it’s pretty damn good and we’re lucky.

Leave a Reply

