8 thoughts on “Jack of all trades …

  1. Yes! While my first job was far from perfect, working at a tiny agency was excellent training — maybe even a better “finishing school” than heading to a portfolio school. I learned all about the business side of stuff and how to write (and sell) pretty much every type of marketing/advertising/pr that was being done at the time. I’m thankful the owner (who was probably all of 30 at the time) saw potential in my spec creative.

    My first day consisted of being handed Ogilvy on Advertising and told to “come and see me when you’re done.” I’m a fast reader, always have been, and I devour books. When I finished, I was so excited to get started–and I wanted to go work for David Ogilvy!

    After quizzing me to prove I actually read the book, my new boss pronounced me “ready” and threw me into my first project: writing a video game manual.

    • Great story Julie. We’re lucky to have had these opportunities. There’s nothing quite like trial by fire 🙂

  2. Ah…What memories. From that fateful photo shoot to being a witness to your bound-
    less creative energy while attached to that manufacturer. The pressure, the stress,
    the impossible deadllines but also the laughter. To this day have never figured out
    if we laughed from fear or from joy, maybe both. Thank you for teaching me the joy
    part. You remain forever in my grateful heart.

    • Omg the laughter! Honestly I think those years were the best times of my life. Do you remember that day we had lunch downstairs? I think my ribs are still sore :).

  3. Mine too! Were we thrown out? Or did His Eminence pay them off with apologies?
    They were indeed the best times.

    • We got filthy looks and eventually some of the crabbier ones at other tables made the owner come over to us and tell us to keep it down or he’d have to ask us to leave. By then we were almost finished our lunch and His Eminence pacified the owner. Hysterical!!!!

  4. So, so true. I have also done both. For me the experiences dovetailed nicely. First I worked for a Fortune 500 so my jobs were specialized but cutting edge. I was able to transfer that knowledge when I worked for a smaller company (while doing all sorts of other crazy stuff!). And you’re right, it was fun.

    • Well it’s interesting, because I eventually ended up as a founding partner at a small independent agency and the more cutting edge stuff I learned at the big agencies came in very handy. Similar to your experience. We’re lucky.

Leave a Reply

