Good as new (both of us) …

If you’ve ever wondered just how attached you are to technology, I now know.  I was without a doctorcomputer all weekend.  From about 2:00 pm last Friday afternoon until 11:00 a.m. yesterday morning.  Whew!  It wasn’t easy.

Don’t panic.  The doctor’s not for me.  It was for my Mac.  It had a pretty serious boo-boo.  Thought it was a goner, for sure, to tell you the truth.   Out of the blue one day it stopped backing up to my external hard drive.  Called the tech expert who spent several hours trying to figure out what the problem
was.  After several attempts, his diagnosis was a corrupted hard drive.

In most laptops it’s not a huge problem.  The hard drive can be replaced.  Not so with a Macbook Air.  He (techie) suggested I go to the Apple Store for a second opinion.  They confirmed it and it looked like I was going to have to fork over the bucks for a new laptop.

Until my wonderful techie did some research and figured out the hard drive could, in fact, be replaced.  But he’d have to get the replacement from the U.S.  Even with the exchange and shipping costs it would still cost a mere fraction of what a new computer would.

And beside the point, I like my computer.  We’ve logged a lot of miles together and I’m attached to it.  Didn’t want to have to start all over, getting to know a new one, figuring out how we were going to work together.  Hoping against hope we’d get along.

You understand, don’t you?

Anyway, it was a very strange weekend.  I can’t tell you how many times I went to sit down in my favourite writing spot, only to find a blank space where my Air should have been.  I honestly didn’t know what to do with myself.

A friend suggested I charge up my old iPad, just so I’d have something other than my little iPhone to play with.  But I decided the rest might do me good.  Psychologically if nothing else.  I wanted to see if I could master my addiction or my addiction was going to control me.  Surely, I could live without a computer for a few days.  It’s not like I had a pressing work deadline.

Friday afternoon and evening were the worst, I must admit.  I really was bereft.  Lost.  Rudderless.  I felt as if part of me was missing.  It’s true, part of me was.

Saturday came and went with virtually no withdrawal symptoms and I was fine Sunday, until about dinner time.  By then I was back in longing mode.  Time was standing still.  My fingertips were itching for the keyboard.  And I was feeling a bit queasy, hoping  praying the ‘transplant’ was a success and the patient was recovering nicely.

Monday morning really dragged on until Jenson (saviour) arrived with my baby.

All’s well, I’m happy to report.  My buddy and I are back together again.  Re-united.  By each other’s side, where we belong.

(big sigh of relief)

My Air not only has a new hard drive, the operating system’s been upgraded to Yosemite, the very latest.  And I didn’t have to do it, which is great, because whenever I try to do that stuff it’s a disaster. That’s (Yosemite) going to take a bit of getting used to, some functions are quite different.  I may book a tutorial at the Apple Store to avoid frustration and subsequent temper tantrums.

Punching my recently-repaired computer in the gut because I can’t figure out where to find stuff just doesn’t seem like a good idea to me.

8 thoughts on “Good as new (both of us) …

    • I’m struggling with it a bit. I am going to book a one-on-one at the store. I’m sure I’ll get used to it but some of the stuff that’s changed or no longer doable is a real pain.

    • I SO agree with you. In fact I just got off the phone with a friend and I complained about just that. It drives me crazy! I had the most frustrating day with Yosemite today, I have to say. I expect I will get used to it eventually but right now I am miserable. Don’t rush to do it and I will keep you posted. Grrrrr …

    • Well that’s how I knew I had a problem. Nothing was backing up. My poor texh support guy had to back everything up manually. Unfortunately I did lose some music, photos and documents because they got corrupted but the majority was ok. What a drag is all I can say!!! I know it takes time but it is really important to keep backing everything up.

  1. Thanks for the reminder to back up! I love my Air too, and I’m spoiled as I have an older iMac too, but would be lost without one or the other. Might be good for me to try, but I honestly hope I don’t have to anytime soon…So glad it’s all worked out well for you!
    I actually love Yosemite – the graphics and the functions work well for me. There are a few odd glitches though. But that’s how it goes it seems.

    • Yes, you should definitely back up, you never know with technology. I have a Time Machine from Apple. It’s both my WiFi and an external hard drive and it’s set up to automatically back up every day. I expect I’ll get used to Yosemite. Just takes some getting used to.

Leave a Reply

