Thanks (again).

Canadian Thanksgiving was this past weekend.  And considering how, for the past two weeks, I’ve been talking about what I’m pumpkin piegrateful for, I figured this was the perfect time to continue that particular conversation.  And then I’ll give it a rest, I promise.  Which you’ll be thankful for, I know.

Right off the top, I’m grateful for my sense of humour.  There’s all kinds of shit going on just about every place you can find on a map — not to mention  the crap we all put up with in our own lives — so being able to find something to laugh about is the key to survival as far as I’m concerned.

There are over 785 million adults worldwide who are illiterate.  And I’m sorry to say they’re not all living in third world countries either.  Thank God I’m not one of them.  To be unable to get lost in the pages of a wonderful book would be unbearable.  Reading, for me, is the greatest escape of all.

And on the opposite side of that coin, how lucky am I that I can string sentences together?  I think I’d explode if I couldn’t share my thoughts and feelings and concerns and opinions, if I couldn’t share myself.  It’s hard to describe just how content I am when I’m sitting in front of my computer (particularly when my bad technology karma isn’t paying a visit.)  And yes, thank you, for reading.  Especially those of you who keep coming back for more.

Here it is, the middle of October, and there are still days when I can go outside wearing just a light sweater.  People are still driving around with the tops down on their convertibles.  I am grateful for every day I wake up to sunshine and unseasonably warm temperatures.  Last week I went to the theatre with a friend and it was warm enough for us to sit outside at a cafe and have coffee before hand.  That’s a gift at this time of year.

Next Monday we go to the polls (in Canada) when we will, hopefully, elect a new Prime Minister.  While I can’t honestly say I think we have the perfect candidates, I am thankful I live in a country where we have elections and I can vote.  Which is a lot more than you can say about a lot of other countries.  So if any of my fellow Canadians are so disenchanted or ambivalent you’ve decided to forgo voting let me just say, shame on you!  Get off your sorry asses and vote, damn it!!

Speaking of which (elections), I’ll be very grateful once the U.S. elections are over.  Interesting as Donald Trump has made the Presidential race, I’ve had enough of the debates and all the pundits, experts, reporters, anchors and pollsters who are analyzing me into an absolute stupor.  OMG.

But enough about me.  What are you grateful for, other than the fact I’ve made this a relatively brief blog post?

 

10 thoughts on “Thanks (again).

    • Thank you! And I’m grateful I’ve gotten to know you, Bruce and the Gs. Hope to meet the Gs in person one of these days but in the meantime I love reading about what they’re up to and seeing all the photos!

  1. I’m grateful every morning that I can see, sunshine or clouds, the furry thing that prods me away in the early a.m. — and I mean early! I’m grateful that I can read, write and do what I love to do each day. I’m amaaaazingly grateful for my friends, and grateful for my health and sense of humor
    I could go on, but won’t bore you with more….. ~~ off to watch the debate <>

    • Thanks for stopping by and taking the tine to comment — which I’m grateful for. You didn’t bore me, btw. Yes, I’m going to be glued to the debate too.

  2. Your are right. Having a sense of humor is extremely important! It seems that the whole world has fallen into quite a mess right now. I have had enough of the political debates here in the U.S. too….they are unnerving.
    Being able to get lost in the words of a good book, as you say, is wonderful. I am so thankful for the teachers who patiently taught me how to read and write! They gave me the ability to travel and communicate with others through the exchange of words. (Oh…and I am also thankful for cameras and photos!)
    Because of WordPress, I have been able to virtually visit so many people and places that I have actually never met or seen in reality. I love it.

Leave a Reply

