Really???

Is all the mean-spiritedness of this year’s presidential race (and the last eight years) starting to rub off GOPon me? Am I missing something? Am I just an old stick-in-the-mud? Or is the carnival-like atmosphere of the GOP convention also making you wonder how the US ever became a super power?

I know the Democrats do it too, although from what I watched on TV last night it didn’t seem as bad. I know it’s the way it’s always been done. And while I admit it’s always given me pause, I’ve usually just shrugged my shoulders and moved on.

But this year, when so much is at stake, when the country has never been more divided, when nobody’s life seems to matter, when you never know where or when or how terrorists are going to strike but you know for sure they will, when the economy globally is static or worse, when jobs are scarce, when the poor are poorer, when the world has never been more out of control and sanity is in very short supply I have to say I find all the over-the-top frivolity offensive.

Do these folks really have to wear stupid hats? Must they jitterbug in the aisles? Must they hoot and holler like a bunch of drunks on New Year’s Eve? Must they behave like a roomful of out-of-control six year olds at Chucky Cheese?

Electing a president, and being the president, is serious business; and never has it been more so. I’ll spare you the details, we’re drowning in them as it is. They’re unavoidable, unless you live in a cave. But suffice to say, I think everyone involved needs to take a time-out.

What do I know? I’m a Canadian and I’m the first to agree there’s a lot about US politics I know nothing about.

But surely you can pick a presidential candidate in a way that respects the office that candidate will hold. You can show the American people, and the rest of the world, that you can be trusted with this huge responsibility. Surely you can pick a presidential candidate without dressing up like it’s Halloween.

8 thoughts on “Really???

      • I’m afraid to even think about it and I say that in all seriousness. If that disgusting, disgraceful man becomes the president, it will all of us no matter where we live. And on the other side of the aisle I am holding my breath, terrified at what the next scandal might be. It’s a total horror show.

  1. Franzi, Good post. You say, ” You can show the American people, and the rest of the world, that you can be trusted with this huge responsibility.” If you really get into American history and British history, and World history, you realize that neither the Americans nor the Brits, nor the Romans, nor any other world-conquering/controlling power can be trusted with such a huge responsibility. Most of the conquerors are men, and most of the men are after personal power, not service to their constituencies. If you know any biology, you understand this.
    And many of them do have the emotional intelligence of six-year-olds at Chucky Cheezes. That’s why, when there is a sane leader (I’ll include Carter and Obama in that category), they often become maligned and marginalized because other politicians simply can’t understand or “deal” with them.
    And, of course, world powers do collapse, and the world can be thrown into chaos. (Were the two world wars of the twentieth century partly consequences of the collapse of the Russian Empire and the British Empire?) I say it’s time for women to have equal say in international political structure and decision making. That may or not that will make a difference. Women are as flawed as men, but in different ways. However, they are less inclined to fight if they don’t get their way about something.
    I could go on, but i should probably quit here.

    • Thanks Joanne. I agree that women would certainly bring something that has been missing, but with the state of the world right now — and leaders everywhere — I’d settle for someone sane — be it a man, a woman or an undecided.

Leave a Reply

