For Canadians, a time to count our blessings …

Yesterday was Thanksgiving in Canada. It’s when we pause and reflect, to remind ourselves how fortunate gratefulwe are, to be grateful for all we have. But this year, at least for me, it’s taken on even greater significance.

I could be wrong, but I don’t remember a time when the world was in worse shape, in more turmoil.

Natural disaster after natural disaster, decimating cities and towns and villages, destroying homes and taking lives, leaving nothing but sorrow and rubble in their wake. Discord everywhere you turn — at home and abroad, between rich and poor, men and women, gay and straight, black and white, between different political parties, races and religions.

And then there’s Donald Trump and the havoc he’s created. That list is endless.

He is utterly despicable — as a businessman, as an employer, as a citizen, as a potential leader of the United States (and, indeed the free world) but mostly, and saddest of all, as a human being, as a man, as a husband, as a father. And never was that more apparent than last Friday when the tape was leaked of him (Trump) bragging to Billy Bush about how he could pretty much “do anything” to women and get away with it because he’s a “star.” I’ll spare you the details which, unless you live in a cave, I’m sure you’ve heard more times than you wish you had.

Immediately I thought of his daughter, Ivanka. As a woman, how must she have felt hearing that? As a mother, of a daughter (and two sons), how must she have felt hearing that? For that matter, how must she have felt hearing her father tell Howard Stern it was okay to call her “a piece of ass?”

Trash. The man belongs in the trash.

So the Trump wives and offspring have lived large and lavishly, in penthouse mansions high in the sky. They’ve traveled on luxuriously-appointed private planes and stayed in the most exclusive and expensive hotels and resorts (when they’re not staying in those bearing their name). They’ve gone to private schools and prestigious universities.

There are those who envy their lifestyle, their lives of privilege.  There are those who gush, “they’ve wanted for nothing.”

Not in my opinion. I think they want for a helluva lot, starting with a father they can be proud of, a man they can respect and look up to. The kind of father (and mother) I had.

Never have I been more grateful for my parents, for the examples they set for me, for the values they gave me, for the lessons they taught me, for the legacy of decency, integrity, selflessness, kindness, generosity and compassion they left me. None of which every last one of Donald Trump’s billions can buy.

That’s what I was thankful for this past Thanksgiving, it’s what I’m thankful for today and will be thankful for tomorrow and every day.

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “For Canadians, a time to count our blessings …

  1. Thank you Fransi! How terrible for these educated kids to be locked in by Trump money…how terrible for my country to have such a mean spirited, ignorant,egomaniac running for office…how terrible for his followers to be riled up by his inflammatory words..this election and he make me sick!

    • Thank you Barbara. I feel exactly the same way. Everyday he says or does something worse than the day before and I say “this can’t be true” and it is. Shocking and horrible.I really hope this completely ruins his business.

  2. And as far as I see it if you are a supporter of Trump you are just as guilty by supporting his behvour, he is dispicable and a menace not only to the USA but to the globe

Leave a Reply

