Finally, something to feel good about …

These days everyone’s attention seems to be focused on “millennials.” Marketers everywhere are trying to figureperennials them out, desperate to find ways of reaching them, talking to them, convincing them to notice their brands, to like their brands, to choose their brands. To favour their brands with their attention, their praise, their cold hard cash. To favour their brands with their loyalty and their reco’s.

They’re proving to be a tough crowd, but I’ll save that conversation for another day.

In the meantime, it’s easy for us geezers to feel left out, forgotten, ignored, irrelevant, unnecessary, unimportant, undesirable, invisible, pretty damn useless actually — need I go on? It seems like just yesterday, the world was all over “boomers.” What happened?

It’s a hard pill to swallow, especially when we’re already taking so many pills. Pills designed to do everything from lowering our blood pressure to increasing our libidos, from keeping us regular to slowing our heart rates to speeding up our metabolisms and … yeah, I know, enough already, you get it. Enough with the pills!

So can you imagine my joy when I stumbled upon this gem on Facebook last week? Written by Gina Pell, it’s a piece on “a group of people who aren’t bound by age in the way most people in society used to be.”

She calls them (us), “Perennials,” so named because “we are ever-blooming, relevant people of all ages who live in the present time, know what’s happening in the world, stay current with technology, and have friends of all ages. We get involved, stay curious, mentor others, are passionate, compassionate, creative, confident, collaborative, global-minded, risk takers who continue to push up against our growing edge and know how to hustle.”

Hell yeah!

In all seriousness, I think she’s hit on something significant. She’s described me and an awful lot of people I know. And I love it because it takes the emphasis off age and places it where it belongs — on attitude and spirit and love of life. So listen up marketers (and everyone else who thinks anyone over 50 should just get out of the way) don’t count us out just yet.

This is the most positive thing I’ve read in a couple of years and never have we needed to hear something hopeful and uplifting more than we do right now.

 

15 thoughts on “Finally, something to feel good about …

  1. Haha. That is a lovely imagery. Pity I tend to kill any kind of plant under my care. So much so that my wife tells me to buy evergreen plastic plants for the house. But I digress, it is good to think “perennials”.

  2. Wonderful I’m now a ‘perennial’ no longer to be referred to as an ‘old fogey’ must start to sow this seed in the minds of all and sundry, thanks for sharing this Fransi. I’m about to do the same right now. Chris.

  3. Love the term “Perennial.” Thank’s for this blog. I’ll be turning 80 this month and am still working on projects I want to accomplish before I kick the bucket. Especially writing projects (which can be done sitting down).

    • I love it too!! Wow, Good for you! I’m not all that far behind you and I also have no intension of slowing down (from a sitting position, writing) 🙂

Leave a Reply

