Day 295. Changing Places

Now here’s a mind twister for ya.  “If you could switch blogs with any blogger for a week, with whom would you switch and why?”  Neat, huh?  Well, I can’t take credit for it.  That blogswitchingwas the subject of yesterday’s WordPress Daily Prompt.

Makes you think, doesn’t it?

I thought about it on and off for a couple of hours.  Which blogger would I like to change places with?  I follow more than a hundred WordPress bloggers.  As in, I get an email whenever they/you publish a post.  So as you can well imagine, I had a lot to ponder.

The more I thought about it, the more difficult it became to make a decision.  Or to even get close to one.

Not because they’re/you’re not good enough.  On the contrary, they’re/you’re all very good writers with interesting things to say.  That’s why I follow your blogs.

Here’s the thing, though.

You’re writing about your interests.  Your hobbies.  Your passions.  Your experiences.  Your families.  Your pets.  Your favourite recipes and restaurants.  Your travels.  Your gardens.  Your DIY projects.  Your studies.  Your jobs.  Your youth.  Your past.  Your present.  Your future.  Your lives.

You’re writing about the movies you’ve seen.  The books you’ve read.  The music you enjoy.  Your style.  Your hopes.  Your dreams.  Your fears.  Your beliefs.  Your convictions.  Your likes.  Your favourites.  Your dislikes.  Your frustrations.  Your disappointments.  Your expectations.  Your plans.

You’re writing poetry.  And short stories.  And essays.  And flash fiction.  You’re taking photographs.  And painting.  And drawing.  And illustrating.  And baking.  And cooking.  And gardening.

You’re sharing what you do.  What you’re good at.  What you’re interested in.

How, then, can I switch blogs with you?

If I could do what you do, I’d be you.  I’d love to be able to write poetry.  I cannot.  Much as I love flowers, I have a black thumb.  I have a black thumb and four black fingers, on each hand, to be honest.  So my garden does NOT grow, unfortunately.  I have NO feel for dough.  So baking’s out.  We don’t live in the same city, or in the same country so for the most part I’m too unfamiliar with your territory to write about it.  Same with your customs and policies and leadership.  Although lately I have commented on American politics, from time to time.  My artistic skills are pretty basic, although my photographs aren’t bad.  I have a good eye, at least.  But a lot of you are professional photographers which I, most certainly, am not.

Maybe I’m being too literal.  Maybe the point of this exercise is to figure out who’s doing things or learning things or seeing things or tasting things, I’d like to be doing, etc.  Whose life would I like to be in, for a week, in other words?

Well, I thought about that for a while, too.

For the most part, you’re all leading different lives from mine.  Some of you are younger.  Some of you may be older.  Some of you are married.  Some divorced.  You earn your livings in a myriad of ways.  Some of you live in big cities, some in small towns and villages.  Some in North America, others in every corner of the world.  You have diverse interests, hobbies, skills, talents and opinions.

And I like it that way.  I really do.  It makes for fascinating reading.  A chance to be exposed to new and different things.  An opportunity to learn.

What I also like, is my life.  Imperfect as it sometimes seems.  Sure there are many things left to do.  Places to visit.  Books to read.  Movies to see.  People to meet.  Skills to improve.  Things to learn.  On and on the list goes.  But I like my life.  Basically I am satisfied.  I’m lucky enough to have lived my dream.  Still living it, for that matter.  With good friends by my side to share it with; and a loving and supportive family.

So here’s where I’m netting out.

There is no blogger I want to switch with for a week or a day or a month or ever.  I much prefer to sit back and enjoy reading about what you have to say.  I much prefer living vicariously through your blog, while I share my own experiences and feelings and thoughts through my blog.

Hope you’re okay with that.

12 thoughts on “Day 295. Changing Places

  1. I absolutely agree… everyone’s blog is unique because of the person who is behind that blog. There isn’t a single blogger I follow whose place I could take, nor do I think anyone would be able to take mine. I’m not even a huge fan of guest posts… if I have something to say, why would I want to say it somewhere besides my very own forum?

  2. Very well thought out! You didn’t take it literally. On the contrary, you did the opposite and did not choose anothers blog as asked. You choose your own.

  3. I came to the same realization as you Fransi… I follow all those blogs that appear every day on my WPReader because they are different from me and my stuff, because I appreciate their uniqueness and love how they make me laugh, make me think and inspire me to write, so I would not dare try to sit in their chairs and write on their blogs, of course there are those that I think would be fun to WRITE WITH but never substitute 🙂 Alexandra

Leave a Reply

