Day 224. Hanging Around

In the end there were no St. Paddy’s Day festivities for me.  On Friday, I spent a couple of hours at my local Starbucks, so I wouldn’t get in my cleaning lady’s way.  Took my laptopvitamins and decided to do some writing there.

It was cold here; and every time someone opened the door, to come in or to leave, a gust of cold air surrounded me.  By the time I got back home I was really chilled.  Not just cold on the surface of my body.  I mean the kind of cold you feel under your skin.

When your bones feel cold.  When, no matter what you try, you just can’t seem to get warm.

Not that I didn’t try.  I put on my warmest jammies.  I was still shivering.  I put on a fleece robe.  Honest to God I was still cold.  So eventually I crawled under my duvet.  But not before I took an Oil of Oregano pill.  In case you don’t know what it is, it’s an immune booster.  I was afraid I’d catch cold, so I wanted to prevent it, if I could.

I cursed myself, of course, for staying at Starbucks as long as I did.  But I was engrossed in what I was writing, and just didn’t feel like interrupting the flow.  Stupid!

A friend called at around 4:30 and asked if I wanted to go see an apartment with her.  The thought of having to get dressed and go out in the cold again really wasn’t working for me, so I declined.

Although I was alright on Saturday, at least for most of the day, I still felt chilled.  My bones had still not warmed up.  So the first thing I did was take all my vitamins.  I take a lot of vitamins every day.  And, I took another Oil of Oregano pill.  It was my third, because I’d taken one at bedtime the night before, as well.  And I had a huge glass of orange juice with my breakfast.

Like I said, I felt ok, so I was pretty confident I’d be fine.

Early evening I started feeling sniffly.  The inside of my nose tickled and burned a bit.  Like when you’ve inadvertently inhaled pepper.  Then I started to sneeze.  Not a lot.  Just occasionally.  But enough for me to think maybe my preventative measures hadn’t worked so well, after all.

Yesterday the sneezing stopped.  But I still had the tickle and my nose was still a bit runny.  I didn’t feel bad.  But I didn’t feel great, either.

And much as I tried to get dressed and go out, in the end I stayed home.

My cats were in heaven.  And, truth be told, I had a lovely day.

For once, I read the entire Sunday New York Times in one pass.  Usually I split it up because I’m going out.  Not this time.  I took my time, I drank some tea and went through it, section after section, until I’d finished it all.  The cats could tell I wasn’t rushing off, and they were as happy as can be.  And they kept me company while I was reading, each on their own chair.  In fact, they never moved from my side all day.

Pets know when you’re not feeling all that perky.  I don’t know how they know, but they do.

Their favourite, though, was when I decided to go take a nap, in the middle of the afternoon.  I had hardly settled myself on the bed when both boys jumped up beside me.  One on either side.  It was their purring that put me to sleep, I think.  It is such a comforting sound.

The heat from their little bodies finally warmed me up.  And when I eventually woke up, several hours later, I no longer felt that chill I’d felt for a couple of days.

Although Sundance and Bartlett are hoping for a drop in temperature.  And a relapse.   They’ve also hidden my vitamins.

12 thoughts on “Day 224. Hanging Around

  1. Curling up with ones pet(s) on a lazy day ranks up there with one of the best things to do in your free time 🙂 Glad you’re feeling better.

  2. Been away for the past couple of days Fransi and you go and catch cold hope you have recovered I am recovering myself from late nights and celebrating – I know I should have more sense that and brains were in short supply all those years ago either that or I was out of the room when they were handing them out.

Leave a Reply

