Day 152. Great Start

We’re just a few days into the New Year, and already I am lucky enough to have a fellow blogger think my blog is worthy of recognition.  Just the other evening I realityblogawardreceived an email from the young woman behind the blog, Cancer In My Thirties, telling me she was nominating me for the Reality Blog Award.

I can’t tell you how touched I am.  With everything going on in her own life, to think she even takes the time to read my blog amazes me, thrills me and humbles me. I hope you read her blog.  Her willingness to share what she’s going through, and the honesty with which she writes, really deserves your time.  You won’t be sorry, trust me.  She is a courageous and inspiring woman, is all I can say.

There are no ‘rules’ that go along with this one.  There are some questions; and because they are different from all the others, I am going to answer them.  So here goes:

1.  If you could change something about your life what would you change?

Nothing.  I stand by the decisions and choices I’ve made.  Mistakes and all.  I get to do the one thing I have wanted to do since I was a young girl.  I am a writer.  How lucky am I?  Sure, when we get the chance to look back there’s always something we might do differently — sooner, later, not at all.  But they are inconsequential compared to the life I’ve had and hope to keep having.  So I am satisfied.  And grateful.

2.  If you could repeat an age, what age would it be?

All I’d like is more time.  Despite all the difficulties and challenges and ‘messes’ in the world, I still believe this is an exciting time to be alive.  Technology is making the impossible, possible; and it’s only going to get better.  And better.  And we’ll have more and more opportunities.  I have so many interests, so many adventures waiting for me, so much more I want to see and taste and experience, I need at least one more life time.

3.  What one thing really scares you?

I really try not to give in to fear.  It paralyzes you.  It stops you from seeing opportunities.  And it prevents nothing.  There’s no avoiding the things we fear, really.  So better to just square our shoulders and deal with them.  And often, when you do, you find out they’re not so scary, after all.

4.  What one dream have you not completed yet and do you think you will be able to complete it?

This goes hand in hand with the point I made, when I answered the second question.  I don’t just have one dream.  I have many.  And I think they are all doable.  I just have to get off my butt and make them happen.  It’s what I’ve always done.  And I’m sure as hell not stopping now.

5.  If you could be someone else for the day, who would you be?

I’m actually quite happy being ‘me’.  And within all of us, is the ability to be anyone we choose.  Not just for a day, either.  For as long as we want.  Until we feel the need to re-invent ourselves again.  That’s what makes life so interesting.

Well, enough about me.  Thanks again to Cancer In My Thirties.  I am grateful to WordPress for giving me the chance to get to know you.  It also gives me the chance to meet a host of other talented writers, poets, artists and photographers.  Every single day.  So who would I like to share this award with?

Julie, who writes Sow, Sew, So is new to WordPress.  She has blogged before, but hasn’t in a while.  I’ve gotten to ‘know’ her through Facebook.  It’s funny because although she and her husband now live in Texas, they used to live here.  She also works in advertising and we know a lot of the same people.  But it took Facebook, and now WordPress, for us to ‘connect’.  She has just started this blog, but I’m already hooked.  She’s a great writer, with a very eclectic assortment of interests and hobbies.  You’ll see when you visit her blog.

Prepare to be inspired.  A wonderful storyteller and poet, Marva Seaton writes about survival, community issues, lifestyle and more.  She reminds us of what’s really important.  I look forward to her posts and I am sure you will, as well.

Last but not least, meet Grandma Chris, who writes Press “M” for Menopause.  She describes herself as “a wife, mom, step-mom, daughter and friend all rolled into one busy person who’s facing life’s many challenges head-on.”  She also explains she discovered blogging by accident.  Once you’ve read her blog you’ll understand why it’s no accident I think she deserves this award.

And now, back to ‘reality’.  I’ve got chores to do.  Bet you do, as well.  Thanks one more time to Cancer In My Thirties for the nod, all of you for stopping by everyday and to WordPress for giving us such a terrific ‘place’ to meet.

18 thoughts on “Day 152. Great Start

  1. Congratulations on your award! As Ronnie said in her comment, it’s always an honour to be so recognized. I am SO looking forward to meeting you in person when I get back to Toronto later this month. As I read your responses to the questions, I could not stop nodding my head and thinking how my responses would have mirrored yours. Since my MS is back with my editor for a final proofread, I actually have the time today to take a relaxing look at the links you have provided instead of obsessively tweaking my novel! Enjoy your day and your award!

    • Thank you, thanks and thanks again. I am looking forward to meeting you, as well. I finished reading your book yesterday. I loved what you did with the ending; and, also, why you did it. Enjoy your weekend off!

  2. Pingback: So: Encouragement matters | Sow, Sew, So

    • Thank you!! Funny how life works out, isn’t it? When we were literally around the corner from each other our paths never crossed. And look at us now. I love it.

  3. I am so incredibly honored for the nomination Fransi and so very thankful to you. I have met some wonderful ladies (and gentlemen) on WordPress, but you have truly given me inspiration for achieving my goals. You are a funny, serious, motivating, honest, interesting and all-around terrific lady and someone who I look forward to reading each and every post you create. I better get busy copying and pasting, thanks again, and have a wonderful weekend.

  4. Congratulations, Fransi!
    You and your blog deserve it, for sure!
    And thanks too for introducing a few more great blogs, I’m looking forward to getting to know.

Leave a Reply

